04/05/2017 - League gets off to a flying start

There was sunny skies at the first night of the 2017 season at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme. There was a good turnout of riders for the first night with 55 riders taking part across all the leagues. However the rain cleared and the sun came out to bring a warm sunny evening.


The night started with the Freewheelers League with 18 riders competing. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Josh Marsden Lyme RC 7 Points

Tom Jackson Newport CC 7 Points

Group 2 Olly Davis Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 3 Max Mckenzie Lyme RC 9 Points


The main league started with the first round of the 500m Handicap League. There was a blanket finish with the win going to Chris Pyatt ( Brooks Cycles ) from his team mates Steve Cronshaw and George Hancock. In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to Steve Cronshaw, Chris Pyatt and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) . The sprint final saw Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles) show an impressive turn of speed to win in fine style from his team mate Barney Swinnerton and Josh Spendelow.

In the A Class Endurance events Charlie Fisher ( Newport CC ) had a great night as he moved up from last years B league as he won the opening 10 lap scratch and the points race. He then backed this up with a second place in the devil as he lost out to first time rider at the league Joshua Wilkes ( U/A) . The final 10 mile scratch went to last years league winner Joel Partington who had took much speed in his legs at the end of a tough race in cold windy conditions. 

The B Class races saw a large field compete with Jonathan Mills-Keeling ( Wolverhampton Wheelers ) winning the 40 lap scratch  and the devil. The points race went to James Brayford ( Lyme RC ) 

The youth events saw harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) have  good night as he took control of the league lead with wins in the 200m TT, devil and 6 lap scratch. The team sprint went to Josh jackson ( Mid Shropshire Wheelers ) Hannah Davis ( Lyme RC ) and Sam Hall ( Lyme RC )




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Josh Marsden                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Wheaver                                Lyme RC

3rd           Evie Davis                                    Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Thomas Jackson Newport CC                                      

2nd          Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC

3rd           William Beddow Lyme RC


Race 3

1st           Thomas Jackson

2nd          Josh Marsden

3rd           Thomas Weaver


Race 4

1st           Ruby Jennings Lyme RC

2nd          Minnie McKenzie

3rd           Josh Marsden




Group 2

Race 1

1st           James Swinnerton                            Lyme RC

2nd          Scarlet Swinnerton             Lyme RC

3rd           Olly Davis                                       Lyme RC

 Race 2

1st           Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd`         Olly Davis

3rd           Scarlet Swinnerton

Race 3

1st           Olly Davis

2nd          Liam Campbell

3rd           James Swinnerton


Race 4

1st           Olly Davis

2nd          Liam Campbell

3rd           James Swinnerton


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd          Max McKenzie Lyme RC                                 

3rd          Louis Beddow Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          Louis Beddow                             

3rd           Darcy Beddow Lyme RC

Race 3

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          Harley Johns

3rd           Louis Beddow

Race 4

1st           Darcy Beddow

2nd          Louis Beddow

3rd           Harley Johns



500m Handicap League

1st           Chris Pyatt                 Brooks Cycles

2nd          Steve Cronshaw                                   Brooks Cycles

3rd           George Hancock     Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st           Harry Ledingham -Horn                      Lyme RC

2nd          Sam Hall                                              Lyme RC

3rd           Hannah Davis   Lyme RC

Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Charlie Fisher   Newport CC

2nd          Paul Jones   Ellmore FRT

3rd           Joshua Wilkes U/A


B Class 10 laps Scratch


1st           Jon Mills Keeling

2nd          Mike Boston


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Steve Cronshaw

               Chris Pyatt

               Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

2nd   Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

               George Hancock Brooks Cycles

  Joel Partington                                  Swinnerton Cycles

3rd   Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

              Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

              Dan Cooper Team Terminator


Youth Team sprint

1st           Josh Jackson Mid Shropshire Wheelers

              Hannah Davis Lyme RC

             Sam Hall                      Lyme RC


A Class points

1st           Charlie Fisher

2nd          Alex Coates Innovation Race Team

3rd           George Mills- Keeling Wolverhampton Wheelers


B Class Points

1st James Brayford Lyme RC

2nd Jonathan Mills Keeling                      Wolverhampton Wheelers

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


Youth Devil

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd          Sam Hall

3rd           Josh Jackson


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Joshua Wilkes

2nd          Charlie Fisher

3rd           George Mills -Keeling


B Class devil

1st Jonathan Mills -Keeling

2nd Phil Braybrooke PM

3rd Paul Jones


Sprint Final

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Barney Swinnerton

3rd           Josh Spendelow


Youth Scratch

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd          Sam Hall

3rd           Hannah Davis


40 lap Scratch

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          George Hancock

3rd           Alex Coates



1st           Jonathan Mills-Keeling

2nd          Mike Boston

3rd           Phil Braybrooke

Back to results list