01/06/2017 - Barber shows fine Form in A Class League Events

The sunny conditions continued at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme. the school holidays took away a few riders however the attendance was good for a warm nights racing.

The night started with the Freewheelers League with 14 riders competing. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Josh Marsden Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 2 Liam Campbell Lyme RC 11 Points

Group 3 Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001    9 Points


The main league started with the usual of the 500m Handicap League. There was a close finish with Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) taking the win from scratch man Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles )  In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to Steve Cronshaw, Chris Pyatt and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) . The sprint final saw Joel   Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles) win from Josh Spendelow and Barney Swinnerton. 

In the A Class Endurance events Farley Barber ( Provision ) had a commanding night as he won the 10 laps scratch, Points race and devil races.  The final 10 mile scratch went to last years league winner Joel Partington who had lapped the field with Farley Barber .  

The B Class races saw a good turnout with Thomas Hughes ( Provision ) taking the 10 lap scratch and Points races. Harry Ledingham-Horn won the devil. The 10 mile was won by sprinter Chris Pyatt (Brooks Cycles ) .

In the C Class races Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) won the 8 lap scratch and Richard Coates ( Leek CC ) won the points and 10 mile while Neil Batten ( Newcastle Rc 2001) won the  devil. 

The youth events saw Hannah Davis ( lyme win the 500m handicap and Jack Emmerson ( Newport CC ) won the devil and scratch races.




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Josh Marsden                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Wheaver                            Lyme RC

3rd          Seth Ireland                                     Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC                                    

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Harry Clewlow Lyme RC


Race 3

1st           Josh Marsden

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Seth Ireland


Race 4

1st           Josh Marsden

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Harry Clewlow




Group 2

Race 1

1st           Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow             Lyme RC

3rd           Olly Davis                                       Lyme RC

 Race 2

1st           Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd`         Charlie Clewlow

3rd           Olly Davis

Race 3

1st           Olly Davis

2nd          Charlie Clewlow

3rd           Liam Campbell


Race 4

1st           Liam Campbell

2nd          Charlie Clewlow

3rd           Olly Davis


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Lily Alcock Lyme RC

2nd          Max McKenzie Lyme RC                                 

3rd          Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001


Race 2

1st           Harley Johns

2nd          Max MxKenzie                           

3rd           William Alcock Lyme RC

Race 3

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          Harley Johns

3rd           Lily Alcock

Race 4

1st           William Alcock

2nd          Harley Johns

3rd           Lily Alcock



500m Handicap League

1st           Josh Spendelow                 Brooks Cycles

2nd          Joel Partington     Swinnerton Cycles                                 

3rd           Chris Pyatt     Brooks Cycles


Youth 500m Handicap

1st           Hannah Davis                           Lyme RC

2nd          Josh Marsden                                       Lyme RC

3rd           Jack Emmerson   Newport CC

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Farley Barber   ProVision

2nd          Charlie Fisher   Newport CC

3rd   Alex Coates   Innovation Race Team 


B Class 10 lap scratch

1st Thomas Hughes ProVision

2nd Paul Jones Ellmore FRT

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


C Class 8 lap scratch

1st Darren Hughes Lyme RC

2nd Richard Longstaff Newcastle Rc 2001

3rd Richard Coates Leek CC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Steve Cronshaw

               Chris Pyatt

               Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

2nd   Aleshia Mellor Lyme RC

               Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

  Joel Partington                                  Swinnerton Cycles


Youth Team sprint

1st           Douglas Main Derby Mercury

              Hannah Davis Lyme RC

              Seth Ireland                      Lyme RC

  Jack Emmerson Newport CC


A Class points

1st           Farley Barber

2nd          Alex Coates Innovation Race Team

3rd           Charlie Fisher Newport CC


B Class Points

1st Thomas Hughes Lyme RC

2nd Steve Hall Lyme RC

3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC


C Class Points

1st Richard Coates           Leek CC

2nd Richard Longstaff

3rd Darren Hughes


Youth Devil

1st           Jack Emmerson

2nd          Thomas Bulock Newport CC

3rd           Josh Marsden Lyme RC


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Farley Barber

2nd          Alex Coates

3rd           Mike Perry ProVision


B Class devil

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

2nd Thomas Hughes

3rd Steve Hall


C Class Devil

1st Neil Batten Newcastle Rc 2001

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Richard Coates


Sprint Final

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Josh Spendelow

3rd           Barney Swinnerton


Youth Scratch

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd          Hannah Davis

3rd           Thomas Bullock


40 lap Scratch

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Farley Barber

3rd           Charlie Fisher



1st           Chris Pyatt

2nd          Thomas Hughes

3rd           Mike Boston



1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Darren Hughes

Back to results list