15/06/2017 - Hot Nights Racing at League

he theme of blue warm skies continued at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme with some hot racing on the track dished up by all riders who attended. 


The night started with the usual Freewheelers League with 18 riders taking part. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Josh Marsden Lyme RC 9 Points Group 2 Liam Campbell Lyme RC 7 Points

                        James Swinnerton Lyme RC                      7 Points

Group 3          Harley Johns Newcastle Rc 2001      10 Points


The main league started with the latest round of the 500m Handicap League. The handicapping is getting to the point where each round there is a blanket finish and this week was the same with  Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) winning from Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles ) and Alesha Mellor ( Lyme RC ) . In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles )  Chris Pyatt and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) . The sprint final saw Josh pick up his second win of the night from Joel Partington. 

In the A Class Endurance events Farley Barber ( Pro Vision )  won every event in the 10 lap scartch, win and out, devil and 10 mile. 

The B Class races saw a James Brayford  ( Lyme RC ) taking the clean sweep of wins as well in the 10 lap scratch, win and out, devil and 10 mile.  

The C Class league was again very popular with wins going to Neil Batten ( Newcastle Rc 2001 ) in the 10 lap Scratch, Darren Highes ( Lyme RC) in the win and out and Richard Coates ( Leek CC ) in the devil. 

The youth events saw Hannah Davis ( Lyme RC ) winning the 200m TT  and devil with Thomas Bullock taking the points race.



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Josh Marsden                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Seth Ireland                                     Lyme RC

3rd           Thomas Wheaver                           Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC                                      

2nd          Harry Clewlow   Lyme RC

3rd           Evie Davis             Lyme RC


Race 3

1st   Thomas Mould Lyme RC

2nd   Harry Clewlow

3rd   William Beddow Lyme RC


Race 4

1st           Josh Marsden

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Seth Ireland


Race 5

1st           Evie Davis

2nd          Josh Mardsen

3rd           Seth Ireland


Race 6

1st Minnie McKenzie

2nd Daniel Jones Lyme RC

3rd William Beddow




Group 2

Race 1

1st         Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow               Lyme RC

3rd   Olly Davis Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          James Swinnerton                               Lyme RC

2nd`         Olly Davis

3rd   Scarlet Swinnerton

Race 3

1st         Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow               Lyme RC

3rd   Olly Davis Lyme RC


Race 4

1st           James Swinnerton

2nd          Scarlet Swinnerton

3rd   Charlie Clewlow


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd          Max McKenzie Lyme RC

3rd   Thomas Ford Lyme RC                                 


Race 2

1st           Thomas Ford

2nd    Harley Johns

3rd   Max McKenzie

Race 3

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd         Harley Johns

Race 4

1st           Harley Johns

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd   Max McKenzie



500m Handicap League

1st           Josh Spendelow                         Brooks Cycles

2nd          Joel Partington     Swinnerton Cycles

3rd           Alesha Mellor     Lyme RC

4th   Tony Brooks      Brooks Cycles

5th   Chris Pyatt        Brooks Cycles

6th          George Hancock     Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st           Hannah Davis   Lyme RC

2nd          Josh Marsden                                      Lyme RC

3rd           Thomas Bullock   Newport CC

 A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st          Farley Barber   Pro Vision

2nd   Josh Wilkes   U/A

3rd           Alesha Mellor


B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st James Brayford Lyme RC

2nd Nick Moore Newcastle Rc 2001

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Neil Batten Newcastle Rc 2001

2nd Richard Coates Leek CC

3rd Phil Bratten U/A


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Barney Swinnerton

               Chris Pyatt

               Josh Spendelow

2nd   Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

               George Hancock Brooks Cycles

  Joel Partington                                 Swinnerton Cycles

3rd   Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

              Alesha Mellor

              Hannah Davis


Youth Team sprint

1st           Hannah Davis

              Douglas Main Derby Mercury

             Thomas Wheaver                      


A Class win and Out

1st           Farley Barber

2nd          Josh Wilkes

3rd           Farley Barber


B Class Win and Out

1st James Brayford

2nd Nick Moore

3rd Mike Boston

C Class Win and Out

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Paige Nutton

3rd Richard Coates


Youth Devil

1st           Hannah Davis

2nd          Thomas Bullock

3rd           Thomas Wheaver


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Farley Barber

2nd   Alesha Mellor

3rd          Joshua Wilkes

B Class Devil

1st James Braford

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Nick Moore


C Class devil

1st Richard Coates

2nd Paige Nutton

3rd Darren Hughes


Sprint Final

1st          Josh Spendelow

2nd         Joel Partington

3rd           Barney Swinnerton


Youth Points race

1st           Thomas Bullock

2nd          Hannah Davis

3rd           Josh Marsden



40 lap Scratch A 

1st           Farley Barber

2nd            Joshua Wilkes



1st           James Brayford

2nd          Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC



1st Richard Coates

Back to results list