22/06/2017 - Mid Summer Track League see's good turnout

The morning rain disappeared to bring a dry sunny evening at the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs on the 22nd June 2017 with a good turnout of riders totalling 55 taking part. 

In the Freewheelers races the top points scores were as follows in each group

Group 1 Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 8 Points

Group 2 Liam Campbell Lyme RC 13 points

Group 3 Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001 8 Points


In the A class endurance events Farley Barber ( Pro Vision ) won the 10 lap scratch and unknown distance while Mark Love ( Tuxford Clarion ) won the devil. Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles ) won the final 40 lap scratch for the A’s

In the Sprinters League league leaders leaders Joel Partington and Josh Spendelow are locked together after scoring 7 points each on the night. Joel won the Kieren while Josh took seconds places in the keiren, team sprint and 200m standing start. 

In the B class events Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) won the 10 lap scratch. Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC) won the unknown distance and Alesha Mellor ( Lyme RC ) . In the 40 lap scratch james Brayford ( Lyme RC) rode superbly to take the win. 

The C Class league is again proving to be a ever growing success with all vents keenly contested. Jim Hollins back at the league after recovering from injury won the opening 6 lap scratch before Neil Batten ( Newcastle Rc 2001) won the unknown distance. Richard Coates ( Leek CC ) took the devil and the 40 lap scratch. 

The youth events saw Harry Jordan ( Eastlands Velo ) had a good night winning the  400m TT, devil and second in the devil as well as being a member of the winning team sprint team. The other win went to Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC ) in the unknown distance. 





Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Josh Marsden                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Wheaver                              Lyme RC

3rd           Seth Ireland                                     Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Evie Davis     Lyme RC                                   

2nd          Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC

3rd           Daniel Jones Lyme RC 

Race 3

1st           Josh Marsden

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Seth Ireland


Race 4

1st           Minnie McKenzie

2nd          Daniel Jones

3rd           Harry Brayford


Race 5

1st Thomas Wheaver

2nd Seth Ireland

3rd Thomas Mould





Group 2

Race 1

1st           Liam Campbell                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow             Lyme RC

3rd   Olly Davis Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st           Liam Campbell                                

2nd   Olly Davis

2nd          Charlie Clewlow            


Race 3

1st           Liam Campbell                                

2nd          Charlie Clewlow            

3rd   Olly Davis


Race 4

 1st           Liam Campbell                                

2nd          Charlie Clewlow            

3rd   Olly Davis



Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd          Max McKenzie Lyme RC

3rd         Thomas Ford Lyme RC                                 


Race 2

1st           Thomas Ford

2nd         Harley Johns

3rd          Max McKenzie


Race 3

1st           William Alcock

2nd          Max McKenzie

3rd   Thomas Ford



Race 4

1st           William Alcock

2nd         Harley Johns

3rd          Thomas Ford





Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

George Hancock Brooks Cycles

Dan Cooper Team Terminator



Youth 400m SS 

1st Harry Jordan Eastlands Velo

2nd Hannah Davis             Lyme RC

3rd Thomas Bullock Newport CC



A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Farley Barber Pro Vision

2nd Mark Love Tuxford Clarion


B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

2nd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


C Clas 8 lap Scratch

1st Jim Hollins

2nd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC

3rd Richard Coates Leek CC

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Steve Cronshaw

               George Hancock                             Brooks Cycles     

                Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

2nd           Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

               Josh Spendelow           Brooks Cycles

  Dan Cooper            Team Terminator

3rd   Aleshia Mellor Lyme RC

       Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

               Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles            

Youth Team Sprint

1st         Josh Marden Lyme RC

Seth Ireland Lyme RC

Thomas Bullock

Harry Jordan

A Class Unknown Distance

1st Farley Barber

2nd Mark Love

B Class Course de Primes

1st Mike Boston

2nd James Brayford

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn


C Class Unknown Distance

1st Neil Batten

2nd Richard Coates

3rd Sallie Birchall


Youth Devil

1st Harry Jordan

2nd Thomas Bullock

3rd Hannah Davis


A Class Devil

1st Mark Love

2nd Farley Barber

B Class Devil

1st Alesha Mellor

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Mike Boston

C Class Devil

 1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Paul Barber NTCA

Sprinters League Kieren Final

1st           Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

2nd          Josh Spendelow

3rd           Dan Cooper

Youth Unknown Distance

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Harry Jordan

3rd Thomas Wheaver

40 lap Scratch

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Dan Cooper


B Class

1st           James Brayford

2nd          Andrew Bonnett

3rd           Mike Boston


C Class

1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Phil Powell          

Back to results list