27/07/2017 - Braybrooke, Coates and Jordan score big at league event

The weather forecast was not good for this weeks event at at the Brooks Cycles Track League however it stayed dry at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs. Th school holiday are now in full swing so the Freewheelers numbers were down however the riders who attended put in some super fast racing.The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 11 Points Group 2 Charlie Clewlow             Lyme RC   7 Points 

Liam Campbell Lyme RC   7 Points                      Group 3           George Morton Lyme RC                      11 Points


The first event of the main league was the half lap dash with Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles ) taking the win. In the team sprint Joel won again with teammate Barney Swinnerton taking on the first lap. Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) showed his continuing improvement in taking the  Keiren Final in impressive style. 

In the A class endurance events Charlie Fisher ( Newport CC) won the 10 lap scratch and unknown distance with Alex Coates ( Innovation RT ) took the pursuit and 10 mile. 

The B class events saw Phil Braybrooke dominate the races taking the 10 lap scratch , unknown distance and 10 mile scratch with the ever improving Hollie Owens ( Lichfield CCC) winning the devil. 

The ever increasing popularity of the C Class events saw Richard Coates ( Leek CC)  win all four events and in doing so flying up the league to challenge for the win. 

In the youth events Harry Jordan  ( Eastlands Velo ) took a clean sweep of wins in the four events to become a serious contender for this years title.  



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Wheaver                            Lyme RC

2nd         Josh Marsden                                  Lyme RC

3rd   Harry Clewlow           Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Josh Marsden Lyme RC                                      

2nd          Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC

3rd           Harry Clewlow                     Lyme RC


Race 3

1st   Harry Clewlow

2nd   Thomas Wheaver

3rd   Josh Marsden


Race 4

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Daniel Jones

3rd           Harry Clewlow





Group 2

Race 1

1st         Liam Campbell                              Lyme RC

2nd         Charlie Clewlow              Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Charlie Clewlow

2nd`         Liam Campbell


Race 3

1st          Liam Campbell

2nd`        Charlie Clewlow


Race 4

1st           Charlie Clewlow

2nd          Liam Campbell


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd          Thomas Ford Lyme RC

3rd   George Morton Lyme RC                                 


Race 2

1st           George Morton

2nd    Harley Johns

3rd   Thomas Ford

Race 3

1st           George Morton

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd         Harley Johns

Race 4

1st           George Morton

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd   Harley Johns



Half Laps Dash

1st Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles

3rd Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles


Youth Block Handicap

1st           Harry Jordan Eastlands Velo

2nd          Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 

3rd           Richard Wason Uttoxeter CC

 A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st         Charlie Fisher Newport CC

2nd Alex Coates Innovation RT


B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Phil Braybrooke Cheshire Mavericks

2nd James Hollins Uttoxeter CC

3rd Hollie Owens Lichfield CCC

C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Richard Coates Leek CC

2nd Neil Batten Newcastle RC 2001

3rd Mick Stubbs Newcastle RC 2001

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st        Barney Swinnerton

Joel Partington

2nd Chris Pyatt

Josh Spendelow


Youth Team Sprint

1st         Harry Jordan

Josh Marsden

Richard Wason


A Class Unknown Distance

1st           Charlie Fisher

2nd   Alex Coates


B Class Unknown Distance

1st Phil Braybrooke

2nd Jim Hollins

3rd Hollie Owens Lichfield CCC

C Class Unknown Distance

1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Phil Bratton


Youth Devil

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd          Hannah Davis

3rd          Richard Wason


A Class Pursuit

1st Alex Coates

2nd Charlie Fisher


B Class Devil

1st Hollie Owens

2nd Phil Braybrooke

3rd James Hollins


C Class devil

1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Karen Wason


Keiren League Final 

1st          Josh Spendelow

2nd         Barney Swinnerton

3rd          Chris Pyatt


Youth Unknown Distance

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd          Hannah Davis

3rd          Thomas Wheaver


A Class 10 Mile Scratch


1st Joel Partington

2nd Barney Swinnerton

3rd Josh Spendelow



1st Alex Coates

2nd Charlie Fisher


B Class

1st Phil Braybrooke


C Class

1st Richard Coates

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Mick Stubbs

Back to results list