10/08/2017 - Madison Genesis Rider Evans Dominates A Class League

It was a beautiful evening at the Brooks Cycles Track League with blue skies overhead at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs. The Freewheelers started the night off with some great racing with the top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1                               Thomas Wheaver                   Lyme RC            9 Points                                                     Group 2                               Liam Campbell                       Lyme RC           13 Points  

Group 3                               George Morton                      Lyme RC            7 Points

                                          Harley Johns                         Newcastle RC 2001      7 Points


The first event of the main league was the half lap dash with Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles ) taking the win. In the team sprint Chris Pyatt ( Brook Cycles ) Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles )  and Joe Evans ( Madison Genesis ) took the win. In the  Keiren Final Joel Partington took a great win from Chris Pyatt and re-take the lead in the overall Sprinter League.  

In the A class endurance events Joe Evans ( Madison Genesis ) returned to the league after a few years absecenec and he dominated the racing putting in some great turns of speed to show his track legs are still there after a few years concentrating on the road. He won the 10 lap scratch , followed by the course de Primes and devil. In the final 10 mile scratch he was beaten by Joel parting ton after the pair had lapped the field. 

The B class events Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) continued to show how well he is developing as a rider in winning the opening 10 lap scratch, before Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC) won the course de primes. Joel Ackers ( Innovation RT ) then won the final two races in the devil and 10 mile and is another rider who is showing signs of what can come from him in the future.  

The  C Class events saw Neil Batten ( Newcastle RC 2001) win the opening 6 lap scratch before Richard Coates ( Leek CC)  won the course de Primes, devil and the 10 mile scratch to continue his march towards the overall title.

In the youth events Harry Jordan  ( Eastlands Velo ) took a clean sweep of wins in the four events to dominate the nights youth racing.  



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Josh Marsden                                  Lyme RC

2nd         Thomas Wheaver                           Lyme RC

3rd   Evie Davis                Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Daniel Jones Lyme RC                                      

2nd          Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC

3rd           Harry Clewlow                     Lyme RC


Race 3

1st   Josh Marsden

2nd   Thomas Wheaver

3rd   Thomas Mould and Reuben Withington


Race 4

1st           Reuben Withington

2nd          Thomas Wheaver

3rd           Daniel Jones





Group 2

Race 1

1st         Liam Campbell                              Lyme RC

2nd         Charlie Clewlow           Lyme RC

3rd Olly Davis         Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Liam Campbell

2nd`        Charlie Clewlow

3rd   Olly Davis

Race 3

1st          Liam Campbell

2nd`        Charlie Clewlow

3rd   Olly Davis


Race 4

1st           Liam Campbell

2nd          Olly Davis

3rd   Charlie Clewlow


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd   George Morton Lyme RC                                 


Race 2

1st           George Morton

2nd    Harley Johns

Race 3

1st           George Morton

2nd         Harley Johns

Race 4

1st   Harley Johns

2nd   George Morton



Half Laps Dash

1st Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC


Youth 1 lap Standing Start

1st           Harry Jordan Eastlands Velo

2nd          Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 

3rd           Josh Marsden Lyme RC

 A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st   Joe Evans Madison Genesis

2nd         Charlie Fisher Newport CC

3rd Alex Coates Innovation RT


B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Michael Boston Uttoxeter CC

3rd Phil Braybrooke Cheshire Mavericks

C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Neil Batten Newcastle RC 2001

2nd Hannah Davis Lyme RC

3rd Richard Coates Leek CC

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st        Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

Josh Spendelow

Joe Evans

2nd Lauren Quenby Swinnerton Cycles

Harry Ledingham-Horn

Joel Partington


Youth Team Sprint

1st         Harry Jordan

Josh Jackson Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Reuben Withington


A Class Course de Primes

1st           Joe Evans

2nd   Charlie Fisher

3rd   Alex Coates


B Class Course de primes

1st Mike Boston

2nd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn

C Class Course de Primes

1st Richard Coates

2nd Stephen Brindle Lyme RC



Youth keiren

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd          Josh Marsden

3rd          Josh Jackson


A Class Devil

1st Joe Evans

2nd Alex Coates

3rd Charlie Fisher


B Class Devil

1st Joel Ackers Innovation RT

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Mike Boston


C Class devil

1st Richard Coates

2nd Sally Birchall Lyme RC

3rd Mick Stubbs Newcastle RC 2001


Keiren League Final 

1st          Joel Partington

2nd         Chris Pyatt

3rd          Josh Spendelow


Youth Course de Primes

1st           Harry Jordan


A Class 10 Mile Scratch

1st Joel Partington

2nd Joe Evans

3rd Alex Coates


B Class

1st Joel Ackers

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Andrew Bonnett


C Class

1st Richard Coates

2nd Carl Allsop Uttoxeter CC

3rd Neil Batten











Back to results list