24/08/2017 - Bonnett has superb Night

The good weather continued at the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs on Thursday 24th August 2017. The Freewheelers racing started the night off as usual with the small but enthusiastic group of racers putting on a great display for the watching parents . The top points scorers were as follows in each group.

Group 1 Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 10 Points Group 2           Liam Campbell Lyme RC   7 Points

                        Olly Davis   7 Points                     Group 3           George Morton Lyme RC                      11 Points


The first event of the main league was the half lap dash with the heat winners being Joel Partington ( Swinnerton Cycles ) and Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) . In the team sprint Chris Pyatt ( Brook Cycles ) Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles )  and Haryy Ledingham-Horn. took the win. In the  Keiren Final Joel Partington took an impressive from Josh Spendelow. 

In the A class endurance events Alex Coates ( Innovation RT ) won three events and placed second in the final 10 mile won by Joel Partington. Alex is now closing fast on the top position in the league with just two events to go. 

The B class events saw a great night for Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC) who had his best night of the year in winning the unknown distance, devil and 10 mile races along with a second to Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC) in the opening 10 lap scratch.

The  C Class events saw Richard Coates ( Leek CC )win the 6 lap scratch, unknown durance and 10 mile . Sallies Birchall (Lyme RC) put in her usual strong display in the devil to take the win.

In the youth events Harry Jordan  ( Eastlands Velo ) took a clean sweep of wins again in the four events to dominate the nights youth racing.  



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Wheaver                                 Lyme RC

2nd         Seth Ireland                                         Lyme RC

3rd   Thomas Mould                   Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC                                      

2nd          Evie Davis     Lyme RC

3rd           Daniel Jones                         Lyme RC


Race 3

1st   Thomas Wheaver

2nd   Seth Ireland

3rd   Thomas Mould


Race 4

1st           Thomas Mould

2nd          Evie Davis

3rd           Daniel Jones





Group 2

Race 1

1st         Liam Campbell                              Lyme RC

2nd Olly Davis         Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Liam Campbell

2nd   Olly Davis

Race 3

1st          Olly Davis

2nd`        Liam Campbell


Race 4

1st          Olly Davis

2nd         Liam Campbell


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Harley Johns Newcastle RC 2001

2nd   George Morton Lyme RC

3rd   Max McKenzie Lyme RC                                 


Race 2

1st           George Morton

2nd   Max McKenzie

3rd    Harley Johns

Race 3

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd         George Morton

3rd   Harley Johns

Race 4

1st   George Morton

2nd   Harley Johns

3rd   Max McKenzie 



Half Laps Dash Heat 1

1st Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

3rd Hannah Davis               Lyme RC


Heat 1

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

2nd Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

3rd Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st           Harry Jordan Eastlands Velo

2nd   Ross Hooley Lyme RC

3rd          Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC 

A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Alex Coates Innovation RT

2nd Duncan Parsonage Uttoxeter CC


B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Richard Coates Leek CC

2nd Phil Powell Newcastle RC 2001

3rd Mick Stubbs Newcastle RC 2001

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st        Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

Josh Spendelow

Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Joel Partington Swinnerton Cycles

Hannah Davis

Steve Cronshaw


Youth Team Sprint

1st         Harry Jordan Reuben


A Class Unknown Distance

1st           Alex Coates

2nd   Duncan Parsonage


B Class Unknown Distance

1st Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn


C Class Keiren

1st Richard Coates

2nd Mick Stubbs

3rd Hannah Davis



Youth keiren

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd          Ross Hooley

3rd          Thomas Wheaver


A Class Devil

1st Alex Coates

2nd Duncan Parsonage


B Class Devil

1st Andrew Bonnett

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Mike Boston


C Class devil

1st Sally Birchall Lyme RC

2nd Darren Hughes Lyme RC

3rd Mick Stubbs


Keiren League Final 

1st          Joel Partington

2nd         Josh Spendelow

3rd   Chris Pyatt


Youth Unknown Distance

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd   Ross Hooley

3rd   Thomas Wheaver


A Class 10 Mile Scratch

1st Joel Partington

2nd Alex Coates

3rd Duncan Parsonage


B Class

1st Andrew Bonnett

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Mike Boston


C Class

1st Richard Coates

2nd Hannah Davis

3rd Mick Stubbs

Back to results list