03/05/2018 - Young Guns Mellor, Ledingham-Horn and Bullock show their Class

The 2018 season got underway with the first round of the Brooks Cycles Track ,  at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme. There was a good turnout of riders for the first night with 50 riders taking part across all the leagues. rain had fallen a coulee of hours before the league however the skies lightened and a full program took place. 


The night started with the Freewheelers League with 18 riders competing. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Harry Brayford Lyme RC 11 Points Group 2 Ted Taylor Newport CC 10 Points

Group 3 George Morton Lyme RC 11Points


The main league started with the first round of the 500m Handicap League. There was a trilling finish with only 3 bike lengths separating the top 6 with Aleshia Mellor ( Brooks Cycles ) holding on to take the win from Pete Humphries ( Brooks Cycles ). In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to former World Masters Sprint Champion  and making a welcome return after a year out injured Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles,) Aleshia Mellor and Thomas White ( Middleton CC ) .The sprint final saw Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) take a fine win from upcoming youth rider Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC.)

In the A Class Endurance events Cai Davies ( Finchley RT ) was the top points scorer in winning the points race and devil events. Other wins went to Ian Douglas ( Lyme RC ) in the opening 10 lap scratch and Harry Ledingham-Horn who won the final 5 mile scratch.  

The B Class races saw Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) dominate winning all events on the night in this category and his reward is being moved up to the A group next week. Impressive riding from the 14 year old. 


The C Class league saw a great bunch of rider compete with last years overall winner Richard Coates again showing he is the man to beat as he won 3 out of 4 events in the points, devil and 5 mile. Youth Rider Hannah Davies was the winner of the opening 5 mile scratch. 

The youth events saw Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) have  good night as he won the devil and was part of the winning team sprint team. Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC ) won the opening 200m TT and Josh Jackson ( Mid Shropshire Wheelers ) took the final 6 lap scratch.




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Evie Davis                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Harry Brayford                              Lyme RC

3rd          Liam Campbell                              Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Harriette Taylor Newport CC                                 

2nd          Harry Brayford

3rd           Evie Davis


Race 3

1st           Harry Brayford

2nd          Evie Davis

3rd           Harriette Taylor


Race 4

1st          Harry Brayford

2nd         Harriette Taylor

3rd          Evie Davis 



Group 2

Race 1

1st          Olly Davis                                    Lyme RC

2nd          Ted Taylor Newport CC            

3rd           Charlie Clewlow                             Lyme RC

 Race 2

1st          Eadie Jones                       Lyme RC

2nd`        Charlie Clewlow

3rd          Ted Taylor

Race 3

1st          Ted Taylor

2nd         Charlie Clewlow

3rd          Eadie Jones


Race 4

1st           Ted Taylor

2nd          Eadie Taylor

3rd          Olly Davis


Group 3 

Race 1

1st           George Morton Lyme RC

2nd          Max McKenzie Lyme RC                                 

3rd          Eddie Townsend Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          George Morton                             

3rd           Eddie Townsend

Race 3

1st           George Morton

2nd          Max McKenzie

3rd           Eddie Townsend

Race 4

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd          George Morton

3rd           Max McKenzie



500m Handicap League

1st           Aleshia Mellor                                     Brooks Cycles

2nd          Pete Humphries                                   Brooks Cycles

3rd           Steve Cronshaw                                   Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st           Josh Marsden                                      Lyme RC

2nd          Ross Hooley                                        Innovation RT     

3rd           Josh Jackson                                      Mid Shropshire Wheelers

Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Ian Douglas                                       Lyme RC

2nd          Cai Davies                                         Finchley RT

3rd           James Brayford                                 Lyme RC


B Class Scratch

1st Thomas Bullock                                             Newport CC

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Jon Barnwell                                                Velo Wolf Racing


C Class Scratch

1st Hannah Davis

2nd Richard Coates                                           Leek CC

3rd Neil Batten                                                 Newcastle RC 2001


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Phil Houlton

               Aleshia Mellor

               Thomas White                                   Middleton CC

2nd   Chris Pyatt                                               Brooks Cycles

        Steve Cronshaw                                       Brooks Cycles

        Pete Humphries

3rd   Josh Spendelow                                       Brooks Cycles

       Harry Ledingham-Horn                              Lyme RC

       Hannah Davies                                         Lyme RC


Youth Team sprint

1st           Josh Jackson 

              Josh Marsden 

               Seth Ireland                   Lyme RC


A Class points

1st           Cai Davies

2nd          Ian Douglas

3rd           Charlie Fisher                                  Newport CC


B Class Points

1st Thomas Bullock 

2nd Iain Davidson                                          PM

3rd Andrew Bonnett                                      Uttoxeter CC

C Class Points

1st Richard Coates

2nd Sallie Birchall                                          Lyme RC

3rd Neil Batten 


Youth Devil

1st           Ross Hooley

2nd          Josh Marsden

3rd          Richard Wason                                  Uttoxeter CC


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Cai Davies

2nd          Charlie Fisher

3rd           James Brayford


B Class devil

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Jon Barnwell


C Class Devil

1st Richard Coates

2nd Phil Powell                                                Newcastle RC 2001

3rd Sallie Bircall


Sprint Final

1st           Josh Spendelow

2nd          Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd           Aleshia Mellor


Youth Scratch

1st           Josh Jackson

2nd          Ross Hooleyl

3rd          Richard Wason


40 lap Scratch

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd          Charlie Fisher

3rd           Cai Davies



1st           Thomas Bullock

2nd          Andrew Bonnett

3rd          Iain Davidson



1st Richard Coates

2nd Darren Hughes                                                  Lyme RC

3rd Phil Powell

Back to results list