24/05/2018 - World and Commonwealth Champion Rotherham rides League

Week four of the Brooks Cycles Track League took place under blue skies gain and it was warm for a change. The nice weather attracted current World and Commonwealth Gold medalist Matthew Rotherham along with his brother Tom. Both are preparing their legs for a long racing trip to America which they leave for in a few weeks. 

The night started with the Freewheelers League with 18 riders taking part across all groups.   The top point’s scorers on the night were as follows;

Group 1                Minnie McKenzie                    Lyme RC                             7 Points

Group 2                Ted Taylor                                Newport CC                       8  Points

Group 3                Thomas Ford                          Lyme RC                          11 Points                                                          

In the main league the A Class events youth rider Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) had a good night winning the unknown distance and devil races as well as backing these wins up with a 2nd and 3rd place. Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC) won the opening 10 laps scratch and Joel parting ton ( Sportcity Velo won the 20 laps scratch.

The Sprinters league opened with the 1/2 lap standing start heats going to Harry Ledingham-Horn, Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles ) and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) . The team sprint went to the team of Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) , Phil Houlton and Tom Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo). The Keiren final saw Josh Spendelow take a great win after a super fast final from Joel and Matthew Rotherham ( Sportcity Velo ) . 

In the B Class events Phil Braybrooks ( Cheshire Mavericks ) took maximum wins over the 4 race series to fly up the overall table.

The C League races saw Paige Nutton ( Swinnerton Cycles ) win the 6 laps scratch with  Dominic Slinn ( Macclesfield Whelers winning the unknown distance and the 20 laps scartch. The devil went to Steve Parsonage ( Uttoxeter CC ) 

In the youth races Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC) continued his winning form taking the 200m TT, devil and scratch races with Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC) winning the one lap TT


Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Allcock                                            Lyme RC

2nd          Evie Davies                                                 Lyme RC

3rd          Harry Clewlow                                               Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie                                    Lyme RC

2nd          Harriette Taylor                                         Newport CC  

3rd           Harry Clewlow


Race 3

1st           Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Allcock

3rd          Harry Brayford                          


Race 4

1st           Minnie McKenzie

2nd          Harry Brayford

3rd          Evie Davis



Group 2


Race 1

1st           Olly Davis                                        Lyme RC

2nd          Ted Taylor                                              Newport CC

3rd           Noah Killeen                      Mid Shropshire Wheelers


Race 2

1st           Lily Killeen             Mid Shropshire Wheelers

2nd   Eadie Jones                    Lyme RC    

3rd          Ted Taylor


Race 3

1st           Lily Killeen

2nd          Ted Taylor

3rd           Noah Killeen


Race 4

1st           Noah Killeen

2nd          Ted Taylor

3rd           Eadie Jones




Group 3


Race 1

1st          Thomas Ford Lyme RC

2nd          Max McKenzie                          Lyme RC

3rd           Eddie Townsend Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd           Max McKenzie


Race 3

1st           Max McKenzie

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd          Eddie Townsend


Race 4

1st           Thomas Ford

2nd          Max McKenzie

3rd           Eddie Townsend




Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles



Youth 200m TT

1st Josh Marsden Lyme RC

2nd Ross Hooley Innovation RT

3rd Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC



A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

2nd Thomas Bullock Newport CC

3rd James Brayford Lyme Rc

B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Phil Braybrooke Cheshire Mavericks


C Class 6 lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Stephen Parsonage Uttoxeter CC

3rd Neil Batten Velo Runner

Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

               Joel Partington    Swinnerton Cycles

               Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo

2nd           Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

                Matt Rotherham Sportcity Velo

                Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd           Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

               Paul Sydenham Brooks Cycles 

               Josh Spendelow               

Youth 400m TT

1st         Thomas Wheaver 



A Class Unknown Distance

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd James Brayford


B Class Unknown Distance

1st Phil Braybrooks


C Class Unknown Distance

1st Dominic Slinn Macclesfield Wheelers

2nd Stephen Brindle Lyme RC

3rd Paige Nuton


Keiren League

1st Josh Spendelow

2nd Joel Partington

3rd Matt Rotherham

4th Tom Rotherham

5th Chris Pyatt

6th Steve Cronshaw


Youth Devil

1st Josh Marsden

2nd Ross Hooley

3rd Thomas Wheaver


A Class Devil

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd James Brayford



B Class Devil

1st Phil Braybrooke


C Class

1st Stephen Parsonage

2nd Dominic Slinn

3rd Paige Nutton


Youth Unknown distance

1st Josh Marsden

2nd Jacob Gilkes                       Lichfield CCC

3rd Ross Hooley


40 lap Scratch

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Josh Spendelow

3rd          Thomas Bullock 

B Class

1st           Phil Braybrooke


C Class        

1st   Dominic Slinn

2nd   Stephen Parsonage

3rd   Paige Button


Back to results list