31/05/2018 - Ledingham-Horn takes impressive 500m Handicap win

There was another fine sunny and warm night at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme  on Thursday 31st May 2018

With it being school holiday time it was expected that there would be a low turnout at the Freewheelers League  however there was a good turnout of 16 riders . The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Harry Clewlow Lyme RC 11 Points Group 2 Oscar Peel Lyme RC   6  Points

Charlie Clewlow

Noah Killeen Mid Shropshire Whrs

Ted Taylor Newport CC

Group 3 Thomas Ford Lyme RC 11 Points


The main league started with the latest round of the 500m Handicap League. Youth A Rider Harry Ledingham-Horn used his super fast start to take the win from Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles ) and Josh Dunham ( VC St Raphael )  In the Team sprint the team of Josh Dunham, Phil Houlton and Joel Partington  took the win. The sprint final saw Joel Partington finish strongly to take the win from Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) .

In the A Class Endurance events Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) won all the events except the final 20 laps scratch which went to Joel Partington. 

The B Class races saw Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC ) Paige Nutton won the opening 10 laps scratch followed by Dominic Slinn ( Macclesfield Wheelers ) taking the points race and the devil. Iain Davidson won the final 20 laps scratch race. 

The C Class leagues a saw a full program of events with Paige Nutton ( Swinnerton Cycles ) winning the opening 10 laps scratch then Neil Batten ( Velo Runner ) won the Points Race before Hannah Davies ( Lyme RC ) won the devil. Paige Nutton then won the final 15 laps scratch race. 




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Alcock                    Lyme RC

2nd          Evie Davis                           Lyme RC

3rd           Harry Clewlow                     Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Harry Clewlow                                     

2nd          Liam Campbell                       Lyme RC

3rd           Harriette Taylor                     Newport CC


Race 3

1st           Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Alcock 

3rd           Harry Brayford


Race 4

1st          Harry Clewlow

2nd          Harriette Taylor

3rd          Thomas Alcock 




Group 2

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow                        Lyme RC

3rd           Olly Davis                               Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Lily Killeen                                Mid Shropshire Wheelers

2nd`        Noah Killeen                             Mid Shropshire Wheelers

3rd          Ted Taylor                                Newport CC

Race 3

1st           Charlie Clewlow

2nd          Noah Killeen

3rd          Ted Taylor


Race 4

1st           Ted Taylor

2nd          Oscar Peel

3rd          Noah Killeen 




Group 3 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Ford                   Lyme RC

2nd          Eddie Townsend               Lyme RC        

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                 Lyme RC                         


Race 2

1st           Sophie Griffiths

2nd          Eddie Townsend 

3rd          Thomas Ford

Race 3

1st           Thomas Ford

2nd          Eddie Townsend

3rd          Sophie Griffiths 

Race 4

1st           Thomas Ford

2nd          Eddie Townsend

3rd          Sophie Griffiths 



500m Handicap League

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn                 Lyme RC

2nd          Phil Houlton                                Brooks Cycles

3rd          Josh Dunham                               VC St Raphael    

4th         Josh Spendelow                            Brooks Cycles

5th         Chris Pyatt                                   Brooks Cycles

6th         Pete Humphries                           Brooks Cycles


A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Thomas Bullock   Newport CC              



B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Andrew Bonnett            Uttoxeter CC

2nd Dominic Slinn              Macclesfield Wheelers

3rd Phil Braybrooke              Cheshire Mavericks

C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton                 Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Neil Batten                  Velo Runner

3rd Aleshia Mellor                Brooks Cycles


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st          Phil Houlton

             Josh Dunham

             Joel Partingtonl

2nd         Chris Pyatt                    Brooks Cycles

              Josh Spendelow            Brooks Cycles

               Harry Ledingham-Horn 

3rd   Aleshia Mellor

              Pete Humphries

              Hannah Davies Lyme RC



A Class Points

1st           Tom Bullock



B Class Points

1st                  Dominic Slinn

2nd                Iain Davidson              BC PM

3rd                 Phil Braybrooke


C Class Points

1st                     Neil Batten

2nd                    Josh Marsden             Lyme RC

3rd                    Paige Nutton


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock


B Class Devil

1st            Dominic Slinn

2nd          Andrew Bonnett

3rd           Iain Davidson



C Class Devil

1st Hannah Davies

2nd Josh Marsden

3rd Aleshia Mellor


Sprint Final

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Josh Spendelow

3rd          Aleshia Mellor


20 lap Scratch A 

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd           Thomas Bullock



1st          Iain Davidson

2nd         Andrew Bonnett

3rd          Dominic Slinn



1st         Paige Nutton

2nd        Josh Marsden  

3rd         Neil Batten

Back to results list