14/06/2018 - Storm fails to stop League Night

Despite the overnight storm the wind dropped and the sun came out for week 7 of the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme  on Thursday 31st May 2018.

There was a good start to the evening with the Freewheelers putting on a great display of racing. The top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Harry Clewlow Lyme RC 10 Points Group 2 Oscar Peel Lyme RC   8  Points

Group 3 George Morton Lyme RC 11 Points


The main league started with the latest round of the 500m Handicap League. Former Masters World Champion Phil Houlton  put in a great ride to take the win from teammate Steve Cronshaw with the fast finishing Pete Mitchell in third place. In the Team sprint the team of Chris Pyatt, Rowan Elliott and Joel Partington  took the win. The sprint final saw Joel Partington take a fine win  from Pete Mitchell and Josh Spendelow. Special mention to Harry Ledingham-Horn who won the minor final despite the sole of his show coming away with 200m to go. Despite this he managed to win pedalling with one leg !!

In the A Class Endurance events Thomas Bullock won all the events except the final 25 laps scratch which went to Pete Mitchell after a very attacking race which split the field apart. . 

The B Class races saw Jerry Cross make a first appearance at the league and he won the opening 10 laps scratch followed by Dominic Slinn taking the win and out , devil and 25 lap scratch. 

The C Class leagues a saw a full program of events with Paige Nutton  winning the opening 10 laps scratch then Steve Brindle winning the win and out race.  mark Ireland won the devil before Esme Niblett took a great win in the 15 lap scratch .


Josh Marsden again had good night in winning the 200m TT and the scratch race in the youth events. Thomas Wheaver won a fast devil race and along with Seth Ireland won the team sprint.



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Alcock                                   Lyme RC

2nd   Harry Clewlow   Lyme RC

3rd           Evie Davis                           Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Evie Davis                                     

2nd          Harry Brayford    Lyme RC

3rd           Harry Clewlow Newport CC


Race 3

1st           Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Alcock 

3rd           Liam Campbell Lyme RC


Race 4

1st          Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Alcock

3rd          Liam Campbell 




Group 2

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                Lyme RC

2nd          Charlie Clewlow                 Lyme RC

3rd   Olly Davis Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Olly Davis

2nd`        Eadie Jones Lyme RC

3rd   Oscar Peel

Race 3

1st           Charlie Clewlow

2nd          Eadie Jones

3rd   Olly Davis


Race 4

1st           Oscar Peel

2nd          Eadie Jones

3rd   Olly Davis




Group 3 

Race 1

1st           George Morton Lyme RC

2nd          Eddie Townsend Lyme RC        

3rd   Thomas Ford Lyme RC                         


Race 2

1st           Sophie Griffiths

2nd    George Morton 

3rd   Thomas Ford

Race 3

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd          George Morton

3rd   Sophie Griffiths 

Race 4

1st           George Morton

2nd          Thomas Ford

3rd   Eddie Townsend



500m Handicap League


1st          Phil Houlton                                        Brooks Cycles

2nd         Steve Cronshaw     Brooks Cycles     

3rd   Pete Mitchell     Black Line Coaching

4th   Chris Pyatt     Brooks Cycles

5th   Josh Spendelow     Brooks Cycles

6th   Tony Brooks     Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st   Josh Marsden   Lyme RC

2nd   Thomas Wheaver   Lyme RC

3rd   Seth Ireland   Lyme RC


A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Thomas Bullock   Newport CC              



B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Jerry Cross Manchester Wheelers

2nd Dominic Slinn Macclesfield Wheelers

3rd Andrew Bonnet Uttoxeter CC

C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Aleshia Mellor Brooks Cycles

3rd Mark Ireland Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st         Chris Pyatt

             Rowan Elliott Black Line Racing

             Joel Partington Sportcity Velo

2nd   Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

              Tom White Middleton CC

  Pete Mitchell

3rd   Harry Ledingham-Horn 

  Steve Cronshaw

             Josh Spendelow


Youth Team Sprint

1st Thomas Wheaver and Seth Ireland


A Class Win and Out 

1st           Tom Bullock



B Class Win and Out

1st Dominic Slinn

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Jerry Cross


C Class Win and Out

1st Steve Brindle Lyme RC

2nd Neil Batten Velo Runner

3rd Richard Coates


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock


B Class Devil

1st Dominic Slinn

2nd Jerry Cross

3rd Andrew Bonnett



C Class Devil

1st Mark Ireland

2nd Richard Coates

3rd Paige Button


Youth Devil

1st Thomas Wheaver

2nd Josh Marsden

3rd Seth Ireland

Sprint Final

1st           Pete Mitchell

2nd   Joel Partington

3rd         Josh Spendelow


Youth Points race

1st Josh Marsden

2nd Seth Ireland

3rd Thomas Wheaver


C Class 15 laps Scratch 

1st       Esme Niblett                        Mid Shropshire Wheelers

2nd      Hannah Davies

3rd        Paige Nutton


25 lap Scratch A 

1st           Pete Mitchell

2nd          Joel Partington

3rd           Rowan Elliott



1st          Dominic Slinn

2nd         Andrew Bonnett

3rd          Jerry Cross

Back to results list