21/06/2018 - Nice weather continues as Slinn and Partington shine

Week 8 of the Brooks Cycles track league at Newcastle under Lyme saw the nice weather continue and a full program of racing contested.

The Freewheelers League kicked off the nights racing and despite the windy conditions a good deal of the riders recorded personal bests for the opening 200m TT .  The top point’s scorers on the night were as follows;

Group 1                Harry Clewlow                     Lyme RC                             8 Points

Group 2                Charlie Clewlow                        Lyme RC                            10 Points

Group 3                George Morton                        Lyme RC                               11 Points                                                          

In the main league the A Class endurances races saw some good finishes with the speeds noticeably up on previous weeks. Harry Ledingham-Horn ( lyme RC ) took the opening 10 laps scratch before Mark Love ( Born to Bike ) won the unknown distance. Paul Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles ) won the devil then to make a different winner for each event Joel       Partington ( Sportcity Velo) won the final 20 laps scartch. 

The Sprinters league opened with the 1/2 lap standing start heats going to Phil Houlton ( Brooks Cycles )  and Joel Partington. The team sprint then went to the Brooks Cycles team of Phil Houlton, Steve Cronshaw and Josh Spendelow. The Keiren league saw two races with Joel Partington winning both from Josh Spendelow. 

In the B Class events Dominic Slinn ( Macclesfield Wheelers) had another good night as he won the 10 laps scratch race unknown distance and devil races.  Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC ) won the 20 laps scratch race which ended the night .

The C League races saw Paige Nutton win all four races in the 8 laps scartch, unknown distance , devil and the 15 laps scartch. However she was pushed hard in the final race by Richard Coates ( Leek CC ). 

In the youth races Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC ) had a good night winning the 400m TT and team sprint with teammate Seth Ireland. League leader Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC ) then responded in winning the devil and the final 6 laps scratch. 

Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Allcock                                            Lyme RC

2nd   Harry Brayford         Lyme RC

3rd   Harry Clewlow         Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie                                    Lyme RC

2nd          Evie Davis Lyme RC

3rd           Harry Clewlow 


Race 3

1st           Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Allcock

3rd          Harry Brayford                        


Race 4

1st           Minnie McKenzie

2nd          Harry Clewlow

3rd          Thomas Alcock 



Group 2


Race 1

1st           Olly Davis                                    Lyme RC

2nd          Eadie Jones                                         Lyme RC

3rd           Charlie Clewlow   Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Eadie Jones

2nd   Charlie Clewlow    

3rd          Olly Davis


Race 3

1st           Charlie Clewlow

2nd          Olly Davis

3rd          Eadie Jones


Race 4

1st           Charlie Clewlow

2nd          Olly Davis

3rd           Eadie Jones 




Group 3


Race 1

1st          George Morton Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Ford                                     Lyme RC

3rd          Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Eddie Townsend Lyme RC

2nd         Max MxKenszie Lyme RC

3rd          George Morton


Race 3

1st           George Morton

2nd          Eddie Townsend

3rd          Max McKenzie


Race 4

1st           George Morton

2nd          Max McKenzie

3rd           Thomas Ford




Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Joel Partington Sportcity Velo


Youth 400m TT

1st Thomas Wheaver Lyme RC

2nd Josh Marsden Lyme RC

3rd Seth Ireland Lyme RC



A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC

2nd Mark Love Born to Bike

3rd Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles

B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Dominic Slinn Macclesfield Wheelers

2nd Jerry Crosss Manchester Wheelers

3rd Martin Usher Shepherd Cycles


C Class 6 lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Neil Batten Velo Runner

3rd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Phil Houlton

               Steve Cronshaw Brooks Cycles

              Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

2nd           Joel Partington

                Harry Ledingham Horn

                Thomas Bullock Newport CC

3rd          Esme Niblet Mid Shropshire Wheelers

               Aleshia Mellor Brooks Cycles

               Hannah Davis Lyme RC            

Youth Team Sprint

1st         Thomas Wheaver 

  Seth Ireland



A Class Unknown Distance

1st Mark Love

2nd Thomas Bullock

3rd Paul Whatmough


B Class Unknown Distance

1st Dominic Slinn

2nd Jerry Cross

3rd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC


C Class Unknown Distance

1st Paige Nutton

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Richard Coates Leek CC


Keiren League Race 1

1st Joel Partington

2nd Josh Spendelow

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn

4th Steve Cronshaw

5th Phil Houlton

6th Esme Niblett


Race 2

1st Joel Partington

2nd Josh Spendelow

3rd Harry Ledingham-Horn

4th Esme Niblet

5th Aleshia Mellor

6th Hannah Davis


Youth Devil

1st Josh Marsden

2nd Thomas Wheaver

3rd Seth Ireland


A Class Devil

1st Paul Whatmough

2nd Mark Love

3rd Thomas Bullock 



B Class Devil

1st Dominic Slinn

2nd Jerry Cross

3rd Iain Davidson 


C Class

1st Paige Nutton

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Richard Coates


Youth 6 lap scratch

1st Josh Marsden

2nd Thomas Wheaver

3rd Seth Ireland



20 lap Scratch

1st           Joel Partington

2nd          Paul Whatmough

3rd          Mark Love


B Class

1st           Andrew Bonnett

2nd   Jerry Cross

3rd   Iain Davidson


C Class  15 laps scratch      

1st   Paige Nutton

2nd   Richard Coates

3rd   Darren Hughes Lyme RC


Back to results list