19/07/2018 - Spendelow and Slinn have good nights

The hot weather returned after a week lost to rain and there was a good turnout of riders at the Brooks Cycles Track , Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme  on Thursday 19th July 2018 . 

In the Freewheelers racing the top points scores across the three groups were as follows;

Group 1 Harry Clewlow Lyme RC 11 Points Group 2 Charlie Clewlow Lyme RC   7  Points

Group 3 George Morton Lyme RC 11 Points


The main league started with the latest round of the 500m Handicap League and  there was a mass charge for the line with Steve Cronshaw ( Brooks Cycles ) winning from team mate Phil Houlton. In the team sprint Phil rode with teammates Chris Paytt and Josh Spendelow to take the win. In the sprint final Josh took an impressive win from Harry Ledingham Horn ( lyme RC ) and Phil Houlton. 

In the A Class Endurance events Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC )  won the first three events before Josh Spendelow won the final 20 laps scratch. 

The B Class races saw wins go to Dominic Slinn ( Macclesfield Wheelers ) again had a good night in winning the 10 laps scratch, devil and 20 laps scratch. Jerry Cross ( Manchester Wheelers ) won the other B class event in the win and out. 


The C Class leagues a saw league leader Paige Nutton  ( Swinnerton Cycles ) dominate again winning all four events.

In the Youth events Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC ) won the opening 400m TT and along with Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC ) and Thomas Alcock ( Lyme RC ) take the team sprint. Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT )was impressive in winning the devil before Richard Wason ( Uttoxeter CC) won the final points race. 




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Thomas Alcock                                   Lyme RC

2nd   Harry Clewlow   Lyme RC

3rd          Evie Davis                           Lyme RC



Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC                                     

2nd          Evie Davis

3rd           Charlie Clewlow


Race 3

1st           Harry Clewlow

2nd          Thomas Alcock 

3rd           Charlie Clewlow


Race 4

1st          Minnie McKenzie

2nd         Harry Clewlow

3rd          Harry Brayford


Race 5

1st Harry Clewlow

2nd Minnie McKenzie

3rd Evie Davis



Group 3 

Race 1

1st           George Morton Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Ford Lyme RC        

3rd   Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC                         


Race 2

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd    Max McKenzie

3rd   Sophie Griffiths

Race 3

1st          Eddie Townsend

2nd          George Morton

3rd   Sophie Griffiths

Race 4

1st          George Morton

2nd          Max McKenzie

3rd   Sophie Griffiths

Race 5

1st Eddie Townsend

2nd George Morton

3rd Thomas Ford



500m Handicap League


1st         Steve Cronshaw     Brooks Cycles

2nd        Phil Houlton     Brooks Cycles    

3rd   Pete Humphries     Brooks Cycles

4th   Chris Pyatt     Brooks Cycles

5th   Jim Hollins     Swinnerton Cycles

6th   Hannah Davis     Lyme RC


Youth 400m TT

1st   Thomas Wheaver   Lyme RC

2nd   Josh Marsden   Lyme RC

3rd   Richard Wason   Uttoxeter CC


A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Thomas Bullock Newport CC


B Class 10 lap Scratch 

1st Dominic Slinn Macclesfield Wheelers

2nd Jerry Crosss Manchester Wheelers

3rd Iain Davidson BC PM


C Class 8 lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Neil Batten Velo Runner

3rd Steve Brindle Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st         Chris Pyatt

            Josh Spendelow

           Phil Houlton


Youth Team Sprint

1st Thomas Wheaver 

      Thomas Alcock

      Josh Marsden


A Class Win and Out

1st           Thomas Bullock



B Class Win and Out

1st Jerry Cross

2nd Dominic Slinn

3rd Iain Davidson


C Class Win and Out

1st Paige Nutton

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Jenny Hill



A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock


B Class Devil

1st Dominic Slinn

2nd Jerry Cross

3rd Iain Davidson



C Class Devil

1st Paige Nutton

2nd Jenny Hill

3rd Neil Batten 


Sprint Final

1st    Josh Spendelow

2nd   Harry Ledingham-Horn 

3rd   Phil Houlton



Youth Points race

1st Richard Wason

2nd Thomas Wheaver

3rd Josh Marsden


C Class 15 laps Scratch 

1st Paige Nutton

2nd Neil Batten

3rd Darren Hughes Lyme RC


25 lap Scratch A 

1st     Josh Spendelow

2nd   Thomas Bullock

3rd   Chris Pyatt



1st   Dominic Slinn

2nd  Jerry Cross

3rd  Iain Davidson

Back to results list