23/05/2019 - Large Turnout at League

There was the best attendance of the year at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League on the 23rd May with over 50 riders taking part . Under warm sunny skies the riders enjoyed a full program of events. 

The night started with the Freewheelers League . 12 riders took part with the top points   scorers  being ;

Group 1 Eddie Townsend Lyme RC 9 PointsGroup 2 Charlie Croft Lyme RC 11 Points


The main league started with the first round of the 500m Handicap League. This week the long marker Thomas Alcock ( Lyme RC) held on to take a great win . In the other Sprinters League events the team sprint went to  Paige Nutton ( Swinnerton Cycles) Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) and Hayden Norris ( RST ) . This win was more impressive as paige snapped her shoe plate after 20m with the other two carrying on to take the win.The sprint final saw Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) attack at 300m to go and hold on to a two length lead to take the win. 

In the A Class Endurance events Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo ) win the opening 10 laps scratch with Mark Love ( Born 2 Bike) taking the win and out and then Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) winning the devil. Continuing with the different race different winner theme Hayden Norris ( RST)  won the final 20 laps scratch. 

The B Class races saw Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC ) win the open 10 laps scratch before moving up to the A group for the remainder of the races. Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) making a welcome return after a wrist injury won the Win and Out event  before Hannah Davis ( Lyme RC) won the devil. Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC) then won the final 20 laps scratch. 

The C Class league saw Darren Hughes ( Lyme ) win the 6 laps and unknown distance races. Phil Powell won the other two races in the 5 laps scratch and the devil. 

Again the youth races saw a large field of 12 riders taking part with Newport CC bringing plenty of riders and also great to see two Haeren CC riders and one from Eastlands Velo. Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC ) won three events in the Unknown Distance, Devil and Points Race . The other event was the Handicap race with 12 years old Thea Lee ( Newport CC)   taking great win and she certainly looks like a rider to watch out for the future.



Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                   Lyme RC

2nd          Harry Brayford                              Lyme RC

3rd          Minnie McKenzie                          Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie                              

2nd          Eddie Townsend Lyme RC

3rd          Tom Ford


Race 3

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd          Tom Ford

3rd           Sophie Griffiths


Race 4

1st         Eddie Townsend

2nd         Tom Ford

3rd         Sophie Griffiths



Group 2

Race 1

1st          Charlie Croft                                       Lyme RC

2nd          Max McKenzie                                    Lyme RC            

3rd          Eleanor Killeen                                   Mid Shropshire Wheelers


 Race 2

1st          Max McKenzie

2nd`        Charlie Croft

3rd          Sam Ford

Race 3

1st         Eleanor Killeen

2nd        Charlie Croft

3rd         Max McKenzie


Race 4

1st          Charlie Croft

2nd         Eleanor Killeen

3rd          Sam Ford




500m Handicap League

1st           Thomas Alcock                                   Lyme RC   

2nd         Harry Ledingham-Horn                         Lyme RC

3rd          Hannah Davis                                     Lyme RC    

4th         Hayden Norris                                      RST

5th         Paul Sydenham                                   Brooks Cycles

6th         Tony Brooks                                       Brooks Cycles


Youth Handicap

1st           Thea Lee                    Newport CC

2nd          Sophie Jackson           Newport CC    

3rd           Harriette Taylor           Newport CC

A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Joel Partington            Sportcity Velo

2nd          Thomas Bullock           Newport CC    

3rd           Mark Love                  Born 2 Bike


B Class Scratch

1st Josh Marsden                          Lyme RC

2nd Ross Hooley                           Innovation RT

3rd Mike Boston                            Uttoxeter CC


C Class Scratch

1st Darren Hughes                         Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell                              BC PM

3rd Ken Warrilow                           Lyme RC



Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Paige Nutton                          Swinnerton Cycles

               Harry Ledingham-Horn

              Hayden Norris                          RST


Youth Unknown Distance

1st         Thomas Wheaver                 Lyme RC

2nd       Max Bufton                         Hafren CC

3rd        Thomas Hyde                     Newport CC



A Win and Out

1st           Mark Love

2nd          Harry Jordan                  Element RT

3rd          Iain Davidson                 BC PM


B Class Win and Out

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Fred Meredith                       Hafren CC

3rd Phil Braybrooke                    Cheshire Mavericks


C Class Scratch

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes Lyme RC

3rd Ken Warrilow 


Youth Devil

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Max Bufton

3rd           Tom Jackson Newport CC


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock

2nd          Iain Davidson

3rd   Josh Jackson


B Class devil

1st Hannah Davis

2nd Ross Hooley

3rd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC


C Class Devil

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow


Sprint Final

1st          Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

2rd          Joel Partington

3rd   Hayden Norris


Youth Scratch

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Max Bufton

3rd           Thomas Hyde


20 lap Scratch- 

1st           Hayden Norris

2nd          Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd           Joel Partington



1st           Mike Boston

2nd          Fred Meredith

3rd          Trevor Davis


C ’s

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Ken Warrilow

Back to results list