30/05/2019 - Ledingham-Horn, Ackers, Boston and Bufton take individual double wins at League

Its school holiday time which really dented the Freewheelers attendance however the main league saw a good turnout of rider at week 4 of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome , Newcastle Under Lyme .

With the low turnout only one group contested the Freewheelers races with the top points score being Harry Brayford of Lyme RC on 11 points 

In the  A Class endurance events Joel Ackers 9 Innovation RT ) make a welcome return to the league as he won the 10 laps scratch an the unknown distance races . Tom Bullock ( Newport CC) won the devil and the final 20 laps scratch went to Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC) won produced a super fast sprint to take the win.

The sprinters league opened with wins in the 1/2 lap standing start heats to Pete Humphries , Phil Houlton, Paul Sydenham and Tony Brooks all of Brooks Cycles , and Hannah Davis ( Lyme RC ) . The Team Sprint went Callum Evans ( Sportcity Velo) Phil Houlton and harry Ledingham-Horn.  Harry then made a double win for the night in taking the fast and furious Kierin Final  from Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles ) . 

In the B Class events Paige Nutton ( Swinnerton Cycles) won the opening 10 laps scratch  before Mike Boston ( Uttoexter CC) won the unknown distance after being away for the final 5 laps of the race on his own. Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) then took the win in the devil before the final 20 laps scratch race went to Mike Boston who capped off a great night for himself.  

The C League races saw Phil Powell win the Unknown Distance and devil with Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) taking the 10 laps scratch and the final 20 laps scratch.  

The youth races  have seen a large increase in numbers and new faces this year which is great to see. The winners of the four races were Carys Blowers ( Mid Shropshire Wheelers ) in the 200m TT and Max Bufton ( Hafren CC) who took two races in the Elimination Race and Unknown Distance.  The Team Sprint went to Leo Allen ( Newport CC) , Liam Campbell ( Lyme RC) Carys Blowers and Max Bufton.


Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Harry Brayford                               Lyme RC

2nd          Sophie Griffiths                        Lyme RC

3rd           Charlie Croft                                Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Harry Brayford

2nd          Sophie Griffiths

3rd           Charlie Croft                                    


Race 3

1st           Charlie Croft

2nd          Harry Brayford

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                          


Race 4

1st           Charlie Croft

2nd          Harry Brayford

3rd           Sophie Griffiths





Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Pete Humphries Brooks Cycles

Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

Paul Sydenham Brooks Cycles

Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles

Hannah Davis Lyme RC



Youth 200m TT

1st Carys Blowers Mid Shropshire Wheelers

2nd Thea Lee               Newport CC

3rd Tom Jackson       Newport CC



A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Joel Ackers Innovation RT

2nd Thomas Bullock Newport CC

3rd Josh Marsden Lyme RC


B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles

2nd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC

3rd Fred Meredith Hafren CC


C Class 10 lap Scratch

1st Darren Hughes Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell BC PM


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

               Callum Evans         Sportcity Velo

               Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC


Youth Team Sprint

1st        Leo Allen Newport CC

Liam Campbell Lyme RC

Carys Blowers

Max Bufton Hafren CC



A Class Unknown Distance

1st Joel Ackers

2nd Iain Davidson BC PM

3rd Thomas Bullock


B Class Unknown Distance 

1st Mike Boston

2nd Fred Meredith

3rd Lloyd Dunet BC PM


C Class Unknown Distance

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes


Keirin Final

1st Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Josh Spendelow

3rd Joel Partington Sportcity Velo

4th Phil Houlton

5th Chris Pyatt Brooks Cycles

6th Hannah Davis



Youth Devil

1st Max Bufton

2nd Tom Jackson

3rd Sam Stoker Hafren CC



A Class Devil

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Josh Marsden

3rd Jack Johnson Manchester Wheelers


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley Innovation RT

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Lloyd Dunet


C Class

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes


Youth Unknown Distance

1st Max Bufton

2nd Carys Blowers

3rd Sam Stoker


20 lap Scratch

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd       Joel Partington

3rd          Iain Davidson


B Class

1st           Mike Boston

2nd          Fred Meredith

3rd           Ian Batten Velo Runner


C Class        

1st   Phil Powell

2nd   Darren Hughes


Back to results list