06/06/2019 - Storms Stay Away From League Event

There were big storms in the area on the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs on the 6th June  however somehow the venue miss them all and a great nights racing was held with again over 50 riders taking part . 

The night started with the Freewheelers League and after the school holidays the attendance was back up again.  . The top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 2 Max McKenzie Lyme RC 12 Points


The main league started with the latest round of the 500m Handicap League. There was a blanket finish with about 2 lengths departing the top 6 riders. From the mass charge to the line long marker Thomas Alcock ( Lyme RC) took the win again from Hannah  Davis ( Lyme RC ). Both will be going back 5m next time so the judges will have their work cut out for them then,  In the team sprint went it went to  Phil Houlton, Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles) and Hayden Norris ( RST ) . The sprint final saw Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) attacj from the 300m mark however Josh Spendelow produced a superb finish to take the win. 

In the A Class Endurance events Joel packers ( innovation had a good night again in winning the Win and Out and the 10 laps scratch . Harry Jordan ( Element RT) won the elimination and then the final 20 laps scratch saw Hayden Norris ( RST) take a great win after breaking away with Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC ) with 10 laps to go before being joined by Syd Brown ( Innovation RT ) at the bell.

The B Class races saw Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT) win the opening 10 laps scratch and the final 20 laps scratch events. Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC ) won the win and out and the    elimination. 

The C Class league saw Phil Powell take a hat trick of victories before Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC0 win the final 15 laps scratch.

In the youth races there was again a good sized field of 10 riders with Thomas Wheaver   winning the opening 200m TT. Thomas Hyde ( Newport CC ) then won the Elimination  before Seth Ireland ( Lyme RC ) took the final points race. 




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                   Lyme RC

2nd          George Morton                              Lyme RC

3rd           Eddie Townsend                            Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Oscar Peel                              

2nd          Tom Ford Lyme RC

3rd          Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC


Race 3

1st           Sophie Griffiths

2nd          Tom Ford

3rd          Eddie Townsend


Race 4

1st         Oscar Peel

2nd        George Morton

3rd         Eddie Townsend



Group 2

Race 1

1st          Max McKenzie                                    Lyme RC

2nd         Rory Shenton                   Lyme RC            

3rd          Sam Ford                   Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st          Max McKenzie

2nd`        Rory Shenton

3rd          Sam Ford

Race 3

1st         Rory Shenton

2nd        Max McKenzie

3rd        Sam Ford


Race 4

1st          Max McKenzie

2nd         Rory Shenton

3rd          Sam Ford




500m Handicap League

1st           Thomas Alcock                                Lyme RC   

2nd         Hannah Davis               Lyme RC

3rd          Phil Houlton               Brooks Cycles    

4th      Chris Pyatt                       Brooks Cycles

5th      Harry Ledingham-Horn      Lyme RC  

6th      Pete Humphries             Brooks Cycles


Youth 200m TT

1st           Thomas Wheaver   Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Hyde   Newport CC    

3rd           Seth Ireland   Lyme RC

A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Joel Ackers               Innovation RT

2nd          Joel Partington   Sportcity Velo    

3rd           Josh Marsden   Lyme RC


B Class Scratch

1st Ross Hooley Innovation RT

2nd Tom Alcock Lyme RC

3rd Paige Nutton Swinnerton Cycles


C Class Scratch

1st Phil Powell BC PM

2nd Darren Hughes Lyme RC

3rd Kath Brindle Lyme RC



Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Phil Houlton

               Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

               Hayden Norris        RST



Youth Team Sprint

1st       Thomas Hyde Newport CC

Seth Ireland

Harriette Taylor        Newport CC

Liam Campbell        Lyme RC  

Ted Taylor        Newport CC



A Win and Out

1st           Joel Ackers

2nd          Harry Jordan Element RT

3rd          Syd Brown Innovation RT


B Class Win and Out

1st Mike Boston

2nd Ross Hooley

3rd Andrew Bonnett Uttoxeter CC


C Class Scratch

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes Lyme RC

3rd Ken Warrilow 


Youth Devil

1st           Thomas Hyde

2nd          Seth Ireland

3rd           Ted Taylor


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Harry Jordan

2nd         Joel Ackers

3rd   Josh Marsden 


B Class Devil

1st Mike Boston

2nd Ross Hooley

3rd Andrew Bonnett


C Class Devil

1st Phil Powell

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Duncan Mould


Sprint Final

1st          Josh Spendelow Brooks Cycles

2rd          Joel Partington

3rd   Harry Ledingham-Horn


Youth Scratch

1st           Seth Ireland

2nd          Thomas Hyde

3rd           Ted Taylor


20 lap Scratch- 

1st           Hayden Norris

2nd          Syd Brown

3rd           Josh Marden



1st           Ross Hooley

2nd          Andrew Bonnett

3rd          Mike Boston


C ’s

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Ken Warrilow

3rd Duncan Mould Lyme RC

Back to results list