20/06/2019 - Hooley and Hughes take 4 wins on the Night

After losing last weeks track league to the rain it looked like we were going to lose two on the trot as it started to rain while the Freewheelers racing was taking place at the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome , Newcastle Under Lyme . However the rain did not wet the track enough to stop racing and a full program of events took place. 

As the rain started to fall the Freewheelers races were run through at a pace. After a full 8 race program the top points scores one each league were as follows;

Group 1 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 2 Charlie Croft Lyme RC 11 Points

In the  A Class endurance events league leader Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) won all the three races he took part in the 10 lap scartch, Course De Primes and Devil. Hayden Norris ( RST) won the final 20 lap scratch after demonstrating again a powerful display forcing the pace throughout before sprinting away for the win.

The sprinters league opened with wins in the 1/2 lap standing start heats to Eddie Arden ( SES Racing), Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC) and Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) . The Team Sprint went Callum Evans ( Sportcity Velo) Hayden Norris and Eddie Ardern.   The Keiren final saw a great race with the top two of Joel Partington and Harry Ledingham-Horn only being separated by a tyres width with Joel taking the verdict. 

In the B Class events Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT) is starting to build the lead in the overall table after taking a clean sweep if wins in the 10 laps scratch, Course de Primes , Devil and 20 laps scratch.  

The C League races saw Darren Hughes complete like Ross a clean sweep of wins the 6 laps scratch, course de primes, devil and 15 laps scratch .  

The youth races saw a smaller than usual field with a youth event on the same night at Shrewsbury taking riders away. Thomas Hyde ( newport CC) won the 200m TT and individual pursuit. Seth Ireland ( Lyme RC ) won the keiren  and Harry Wilson ( Innovation RT ) took the final Course De Prime race.

Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                               Lyme RC

2nd          Eddie Townsend                                Lyme RC

3rd           Sophie Griffiths                                Lyme RC


Race 2

1st          Oscar Peel

2nd         Tom Ford     Lyme RC

3rd          Alissa Jamison       Lyme RC                             


Race 3

1st           Tom Ford

2nd          Eddie Townsend

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                          


Race 4

1st           Oscar Peel

2nd          Sophie Griffiths

3rd          Eddie Townsend


Group 2


Race 1

1st Charlie Croft Lyme RC

2nd Max McKenzie Lyme RC

3rd Sam Ford Lyme RC


Race 2

1st Sam Ford

2nd Charlie Croft

3rd Max McKenzie


Race 3

1st Charlie Croft

2nd Max McKenzie

3rd Sam Ford


Race 4

1st Max McKenzie

2nd Charlie Croft

3rd Sam Ford






Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Eddie Arden SES Racing

Joel Partington Sportcity Velo

Harry Ledingham-Horn Lyme RC



Youth 200m TT

1st Thomas Hyde Newport CC

2nd Seth Ireland Lyme RC

3rd Harry Wilson Innovation RT


A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Thomas Bullock Newport CC

2nd Joel Ackers Innovation RT

3rd Syd Brown Innovation RT


B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Ross Hooley Innovation RT

2nd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC

3rd Phil Braybrooke Cheshire Mavericks


C Class 10 lap Scratch

1st Darren Hughes Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell BC PM

3rd Ken Warrilow Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Eddie Ardern SES Racing

               Callum Evans Sportcity Velo

               Hayden Norris RST


Youth Individual Pursuit

1st        Thomas Hyde

2nd  Seth Ireland

3rd Harry Wilson



A Class Course De Primes

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Syd Brown

3rd Iain Davidson BC PM


B Class Course De Primes

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Phil Braybrooke


C Class Unknown Distance

1st Darren Hughes


Keirin Final

1st      Joel Partington

2nd      Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd      Hayden Norris

4th      Josh Spendelow                Brooks Cycles

5th       Phil Houlton                    Brooks Cycles 

6th      Pete Humphries                Brooks Cycles


Youth Keiren

1st Seth Ireland

2nd Harry Wilson

3rd Thomas Hyde



A Class Devil

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Syd Brown

3rd Joel Ackers


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Phil Braybrooke

3rd Mike Boston


C Class

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Kath Brindle

3rd Ken Warrilow


Youth Course De Primes

1st     Harry Wilson



20 lap Scratch

1st           Hayden Norris

2nd          Joel Partington

3rd          Iain Davidson


B Class

1st           Ross Hooley

2nd          Thomas Alcock

3rd           Mike Boston


C Class        

1st    Darren Hughes

2nd   Kath Brindle

3rd    Ken Warrilow


Back to results list