27/06/2019 - Sunny Skies at Track League

The best weather of the year greeted the riders at this weeks latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs on the 27th June. With all the Masters riders away it was down to the younger members of the league to pile on the points.   

The night started with the Freewheelers League and the top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 13 Points

Group 2 Sam Ford Lyme RC 10 Points


The main league started with the 500m Handicap League with Hayden Norris ( RST) taking the win. He then went on to take the 2-up team sprint with Eddie Arden ( SESS Racing) . In the Sprint final Eddie Ardern took a good win from Joel Partington.  

In the A Class Endurance Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) won the 10 laps scratch, devil and points race with Hayden Norris winning the final 20 laps scratch. 

The B Class races Fred Meredith ( Hafren CC) won the 10 laps scratch  before Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) won the points race and devil. The final 20 laps scratch was won by Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC) . 

The C Class league saw Darren Hughes take a hat trick of victories to extend his overall league lead. 

In the youth races Thomas Wheaver  ( Lyme RC)  winning the opening 400m TT and scratch races.  Max Bufton ( HafrenCC) won the Elimination race. Special mention to 8 year old Charlie Croft ( Lyme RC 0 who rode his first ever main track league after coming up from the Freewheelers League. Great to see the youngsters coming through. 




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                   Lyme RC

2nd          George Morton                              Lyme RC

3rd           Eddie Townsend                            Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Oscar Peel                              

2nd          George Morton

3rd          Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC


Race 3

1st          Oscar Peel

2nd         George Morton

3rd          Eddie Townsend


Race 4

1st         Oscar Peel

2nd        George Morton

3rd         Sophie Griffiths



Group 2

Race 1

1st          Max McKenzie                                       Lyme RC

2nd         Rory Shenton                   Lyme RC            

3rd          Charlie Croft       Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st          Sam Ford     Lyme RC

2nd`        Max McKenzie

3rd          Charlie Croft

Race 3

1st         Sam Ford

2nd        Charlie Croft

3rd        Rory Shenton


Race 4

1st          Sam Ford

2nd         Max McKenzie

3rd         Rory Shenton 




500m Handicap League

1st          Hayden Norris                                      RST

2nd        Eddie Ardern               SES Racing

3rd         Thomas Alcock   Lyme RC              

4th Darcey Ellis               Team JRC

5th   Harry Ledingham-Horn   Lyme RC  


Youth 400m TT

1st           Thomas Wheaver   Lyme RC

2nd          Thomas Hyde   Newport CC    

3rd           Seth Ireland   Lyme RC

A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Thomas Bullock   Newport CC

2nd          Joel Partington   Sportcity Velo    

3rd          Josh Marsden Lyme RC 


B Class Scratch

1st Fred Meredith Hafren CC

2nd Mike Boston Uttoxeter CC

3rd Ross Hooley Innovation RT


C Class Scratch

1st Darren Hughes Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell BC PM

3rd Duncan Mould Lyme RC



Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Hayden Norris

  Eddie Ardern


Youth Team Sprint

1st       Max Bufton Hafren CC

Thomas Whaever

Thea Lee Newport CC



A Class Points Race

1st          Thomas Bullock

2nd         Josh Marsden 


B Class Points

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Fred Meredith

3rd Mike Boston


C Class Points

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Duncan Mould

Youth Devil

1st           Max Bufton

2nd          Thomas Hyde

3rd           Seth Ireland


Sprint Final

1st   Eddie Ardern

2nd   Joel Partington

3rd   Hayden Norris


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock

2nd         Josh Marsden

3rd   Fred Meredith


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Neil Batten Velo Runner


C Class Devil

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Duncan Mould 

Sprint Final

1st          Eddie Ardern

2rd          Joel Partington

3rd   Hayden Norris


Youth Scratch

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Thomas Hyde

3rd           Max Bufton


20 lap Scratch- 

1st           Hayden Norris

2nd          Thomas Bullock

3rd           Joel Partington



1st           Mike Boston

2nd          Ross hooley

3rd         Thomas Alcock


C ’s

1st        Darren Hughes

2nd        Phil Powell

3rd        Duncan Mould

Back to results list