04/07/2019 - Ledingham-Horn wins three Sprint events

After last weeks super hot league event it was another night of warm sunshine to greet the riders at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome , Newcastle Under Lyme . 

In the Freewheelers races the top points scorers were brother and sister Minnie and Max McKenzie as follows;

Group 1 Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 2 Max McKenzie Lyme RC 8 Points

In the  A Class endurance events league there was a mix of winners with Iain Davidson ( BC PM) taking two wins in the 10 laps scratch and the unknown distance showing he is holding his form from the recent National Masters Track Championships. Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) won the elimination before Joel parting ton ( Sportcity Velo took the final 20 laps scratch after 4 riders lapped the field. 

The sprinters league opened with wins in the 1/2 lap standing start heats to Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC) Callum Evans ( Sportcity Velo) and Thomas Alcock (Lyme RC)  . The Team Sprint was a close affair with the win going to Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles) Harry Ledingham-Horn  and Pete Humphries ( Brooks Cycles) . In the Keiren final there was very close finish with only the camera showing Harry Ledingham-Horn had taken the victory from Josh Spendelow . 

In the B Class events first time rider Rob Taylor ( Crewe Clarion) took the opening 8 laps scratch before Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC) won the unknown distance. Ross Hooley took the elimination race and then Neil Batten ( Velo Runner) won the B and C 15 laps scratch race. 

The C League races saw another first time rider Gareth Croft ( Lyme RC) take the 6 laps scratch before Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) won the Keiren and Phil Powell ( BC PM ) taking the elimination..  

The youth races saw a great 13 riders compete with Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC) winning the 400m TT, Elimination  and Unknown Distance. There were strong performances from max Bufton ( Hafren CC) and Thomas Hyde ( Newport CC) as all riders deserve credit for how well they rode.


Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Minnie McKenzie                                   Lyme RC

2nd          George Morton                                Lyme RC

3rd           Eddie Townsend                                Lyme RC


Race 2

1st         Minnie McKenzie

2nd         George Morton    

3rd         Sophie Griffiths             Lyme RC                             


Race 3

1st          Eddie Townsend

2nd          Tom Ford

3rd         George Morton                          


Race 4

1st           Minnie McKenzie

2nd          Tom Ford

3rd          George Morton


Group 2


Race 1

1st Max McKenzie             Lyme RC

2nd Charlie Croft              Lyme RC


Race 2

1st Charlie Croft

2nd Max McKenzie


Race 3

1st Max McKenzie

2nd Charlie Croft


Race 4

1st Max McKenzie

2nd Charlie Croft







Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Harry Ledingham-Horn          Lyme RC

Callum Evans                       Sportcity Velo

Thomas Alcock                     Lyme RC



Youth 400m TT

1st Thomas Wheaver      Lyme RC

2nd Thomas Hyde         Newport CC

3rd Max Bufton             Hafren CC


A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Iain Davidson          BC PM

2nd Josh Marsden        Lyme RC

3rd Fred Meredith         Hafren CC


B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Rob Taylor               Crewe Clarion

2nd Andrew Bonnett       Uttoxeter CC

3rd Thomas Alcock


C Class 10 lap Scratch

1st Gareth Croft                  Lyme RC

2nd Darren Hughes             Lyme RC

3rd Phil Powell                   BC PM


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Harry Ledingham-Horn

               Josh Spendelow             Brooks Cycles

               Peter Humphries            Brooks Cycles


Youth Team Sprint

1st Thomas Hyde

Sophie Jackson             Newport CC

Harriette Taylor             Newport CC

Max Bufton

Oscar Peel                    Lyme RC

Seth Ireland                  Lyme RC



A Class Unknown Distance

1st Iain Davidson

2nd Joel Ackers Innovation RT

3rd Thomas Bullock                 Newport CC


B Class Unknown Distance

1st Andrew Bonnett

2nd Rob Taylor

3rd Ross Hooley                  Innovation RT


C Class Keiren

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Gareth Croft


Keirin Final


1st     Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Josh Spendelow           Brooks Cycles

3rd Joel Partington              Sportcity Velo       

4th Chris Pyatt                    Brooks Cycles

5th Pete Humphries             Brooks Cycles

6th Thomas Bullock


Youth Elimination

1st Thomas Wheaver

2nd Max Bufton

3rd Thomas Hyde



A Class Elimination

1st Thomas Bullock

2nd Joel Ackers

3rd Josh Marsden


B Class Elimination

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Phil Braybrooke


C Class Elimination

1st Phil Powell

2nd Ken Warrilow

3rd Duncan Mould                          Lyme RC


Youth Unknown Distance

1st Thomas Wheaver

2nd Max Bufton

3rd Thomas Hyde



20 lap Scratch

1st   Joel Partington

2nd   Joel Ackers

3rd   Josh Marsden


B and C  Class

1st           Neil Batten               Velo Runner

2nd          Steve Brindle            Lyme RC

3rd           Gareth Croft



Back to results list