11/07/2019 - Humphries Takes 500m Handicap Win at League

The forecast wasn't good however the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs took place on the 11th July. However the last race of the night was abandoned after the heavens opened although prior to this there was a action packed series of races. 

The night started with the Freewheelers League with the top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 George Morton Lyme RC 11 Points

Group 2 Max McKenzie Lyme RC 10 Points


The first race of the night was the 500m Handicap League  and there was a mass charge for the line with Pete Humphries ( Brooks Cycles ) taking a great win from the fast closing Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) . The Team sprint event went to Chris Pyatt ( Brooks Cycles ) Eddie Arden ( SES Racing ) and Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) . The sprint final saw all three riders separated by a bike length with Hayden Norris ( RST) winning from Harry    Ledingham-Horn and Joel Partington. 

In the A Class Endurance races Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) won the Points race and elimination events with Joel Ackers ( Innovation RT) taking the other A Class winning the 12 laps scratch. 

The B Class races Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT) won the opening 12 lap scratch and the points race with Mike Boston ( Uttoxeter CC) winning the elimination race. 

In the C Class league Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) continue his strong form in the league in winning the 6 laps scratch. Phil Powell took the Elimination race and Gareth Croft ( Lyme RC)  win the points race. Gareth in only is second event showed he is quickly taking to track racing. 

In the youth races Thomas Wheaver  ( Lyme RC)  continued his winning form taking the 200m TT and scratch race.  the Team sprint went to Thomas Wheaver, Thomas Hyde   ( Newport CC) and first time rider at the track Lola Ellis.




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           George Morto                                Lyme RC

2nd          Eddie Townsend                            Lyme RC

3rd           Sophie Griffiths                            Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           George Morton                          

2nd          Tom Ford                                    Lyme RC

3rd          Sophie Griffiths



Race 3

1st          Tom Ford

2nd         Alissa Jamison

3rd          George Morton


Race 4

1st         George Morton

2nd        Eddie Townsend

3rd         Alissa Jamison



Group 2

Race 1

1st          Max McKenzie                                       Lyme RC

2nd         Rory Shenton                                        Lyme RC            

3rd          Charlie Croft                                         Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st          Charlie Croft

2nd`        Max McKenzie

3rd          Rory Shenton

Race 3

1st        Charlie Croft

2nd        Rory Shenton

3rd        Max McKenzie


Race 4

1st          Max McKenzie

2nd       Rory Shenton 

3rd Charlie Croft




500m Handicap League

1st         Pete Humphries                                    Brooks Cycles 

2nd        Harry Ledingham-Horn                          Lyme RC

3rd         Hannah Davis                                       Lyme RC              

4th         Darcey Ellis                                          Team JRC

5th         Hayden Norris                                      Team JRC

6th         Chris Pyatt                                           Brooks Cycles  


Youth 200m TT

1st           Thomas Wheaver                                Lyme RC

2nd          Lola Ellis                                            Eastlands Velo    

3rd           Thomas Hyde                                    Newport CC

A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Joel Ackers                                       Innovation RT

2nd          Thomas Bullock                                 Newport CC    

3rd          Josh Marsden                                    Lyme RC 


B Class Scratch

1st Ross Hooley                                               Innovation RT

2nd Mike Boston                                              Uttoxeter CC

3rd Andrew Bonnett                                         Uttoxeter CC


C Class Scratch

1st Darren Hughes                                           Lyme RC

2nd Gareth Croft                                              Lyme RC

3rd Phil Powell                                                 BC PM



Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Chris Pyatt                           Brooks Cycles

               Eddie Ardern                        SES Racing

               Joel Partington                     Sportcity Velo


Youth Team Sprint

1st       Thomas Whaever

           Thomas Hyde

            Lola Ellis



A Class Points Race

1st          Thomas Bullock

2nd         Josh Marsden 

3rd         Mark Love                       Born2 Bike


B Class Points

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Rob Taylor                              Crewe Clarion


C Class Points

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow

Youth Devil

1st          Thomas Wheaver

2nd         Harry Wilson                           Innovation RT

3rd          Thomas Hyde


Sprint Final

1st   Hayden Norris

2nd   Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd   Joel Partington


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Thomas Bullock

2nd         Josh Marsden

3rd         Mark Love


B Class Devil

1st Mike Boston

2nd Andrew Bonnet

3rd Ross Hooley


C Class Devil

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Ken Warrilow 


Youth Scratch

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Lola Ellis

3rd           Harry Wilson

Back to results list