18/07/2019 - Spendelow Storms to Keiren Win

In was another warm evening both off and off the track at the latest round of the Brooks    Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome , Newcastle Under Lyme . 

In the Freewheelers races the top points scorers were as follows;

Group 1 Oscar Peel             Lyme RC 10 Points

Group 2 Charlie Croft Lyme RC             10 Points

Rory Shenton Lyme RC 10 Points

In the  A Class endurance events league the night opened with league leader Thomas Bullock ( Newport CC) winning the 12 laps scratch then went on to have a great night winning the elimination and final 20 laps scratch to make it a hat trick of wins. The other win in this    category went to fast improving Iain Davidson ( BC PM ) in the Course De Primes as he took off mid race and took an impressive win. 

In the sprinters league wins in the 1/2 lap standing start heats went to Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) Hayden Norris ( RST) and Eddie Arden ( SES Racing) . The Team Sprint saw the win going to Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles) Eddie Arden.and Thomas Alcock. In the Keiren final there was a pass charge for the line with Josh Spendelow winning in great style from Joel Partington. 

In the B Class events  Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) had a good night again winning the 12 laps scratch and Elimination. Other race wins went to Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC ) in the Course De Primes and final 20 laps scratch. 

The C League races saw Gareth Croft ( Lyme RC) have another good night winning the 6 laps scratch , Course de Primes and 3 laps scratch. The other event the Elimination went to League leader Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) 

The youth races saw  Thomas Wheaver ( Lyme RC) continue his winning ways taking the 200m TT, Elimination  and Course de Primes. He also won the Team Sprint with Max Bufton ( Hafren CC), Casper Ellis ( Eastlands Velo ) and Leo Allen (Newport CC) .

Freewheelers Results 

Group 1 

Race 1

1st         Oscar Peel                              Lyme RC   

2nd       Minnie McKenzie                     Lyme RC

3rd       George Morton                         Lyme RC


Race 2

1st         Minnie McKenzie

2nd         Oscar Peel    

3rd         George Morton                             


Race 3

1st           Eddie Townsend

2nd          George Morton

3rd           Oscar Peel                          


Race 4

1st           Oscar Peel

2nd          Minnie Mckenzie

3rd          Sophie Griffiths


Group 2


Race 1

1st Rory Shenton                    Lyme RC

2nd Charlie Croft                     Lyme RC

3rd Max McKenzie                   Lyme RC


Race 2

1st Max McKenzie

2nd Charlie Croft

3rd Rory Shenton


Race 3

1st Charlie Croft

2nd Rory Shenton

3rd Max McKenzie


Race 4

1st Rory Shenton

2nd Charlie Croft

3rd Mx McKenzie







Sprinters League 200m Standing Starts Heat Winners

Hayden Norris                        RST

Eddie Ardern                          SES Racing

Joel Partington                       Sportcity Velo



Youth 200m TT

1st Thomas Wheaver                   Lyme RC

2nd Lola Ellis                              Eastlands Velo

3rd Max Bufton                            Hafren CC


A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Thomas Bullock                   Newport CC

2nd Josh Marsden                    Lyme RC

3rd Iain Davidson                     BC PM


B Class 10 Lap Scratch

1st Ross Hooley                       Innovation RT

2nd Andrew Bonnett                Uttoxeter CC

3rd Mike Boston                      Uttoxeter CC

C Class 10 lap Scratch

1st Gareth Croft                   Lyme RC

2nd Darren Hughes               Lyme RC

3rd Ken Warrilow                  Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Thomas Alcock         Lyme RC

               Josh Spendelow       Brooks Cycles

               Eddie Arden


Youth Team Sprint

1st        Thomas Wheaver

            Max Bufton

             Leo Allen                  Newport CC

            Casper Ellis                Eastlands Velo



A Class Course de Primes

1st   Iain Davidson

2nd  Thomas Bullock

3rd  Josh Marsden


B Class Course de Primes

1st Andrew Bonnett

2nd Steve Parsonage           Uttoxeter CC

3rd Steve Brindle                 Lyme RC


C Class Course de Primes

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow


Keirin Final

1st           Josh Spendelow          Brooks Cycles

2nd          Joel Partington            Sportcity Velo       

3rd            Harry Ledingham-Horn

4th            Eddie Ardern

5th           Hayden Norris

6th           Chris Pyatt           Brooks Cycles


Youth Elimination

1st           Thomas Wheaver

2nd          Max Bufton

3rd            Lola Ellis



A Class Elimination

1st            Thomas Bullock

2nd           Josh Marsden

3rd            Fred Meredith            Hafren CC


B Class Elimination

1st            Ross Hooley

2nd           Andrew Bonnett

3rd           Mike Boston


C Class Elimination

1st           Phil Powell

2nd          Kath Brindle

3rd           Ken Warrilow 


Youth Course De Primes

1st             Thomas Wheaver



20 lap Scratch

1st          Thomas Bullock

2nd         Josh Spendelow

3rd         Josh Marsden


B  Class

1st           Andrew Bonnet

2nd          Ross Hooley

3rd           Mike Boston


C Class

1st          Gareth Croft

2nd         Darren Hughes

3rd          Ken Warrilow



Back to results list