25/07/2019 - Norris and Croft Score High at League

It was the warmest race night in many years at the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs took place on the 25th July.It was 32 degrees at the start of the racing so there wasn't much need for the riders to warm up too much. The night started with the Freewheelers League with the top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 8 Points

Group 2 Max McKenzie Lyme RC 7 Points

Charlie Croft Lyme RC 7 Points


The first race of the night was the 500m Handicap League with Hayden Norris ( RST) coming through to take the win from one of the back marks.  The Team sprint event went to Pete Humphries ( Brooks Cycles ) Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) and Hayden Norris. The sprint final saw Hayden make it a triple of wins as he came past Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo in the home straight . 

In the A Class Endurance races Joel Partington booked ended the night winning the first 12 lap scratch then the 20 laps scratch at the end. Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC) had a great night in winning the win and out race followed by the elimination. 

The B Class races saw Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT) have another good night winning the final 20 laps scratch and the elimination. Andrew Bonnett ( Uttoxeter CC) took the other two wins in the 12 laps scratch and the win and out. 

In the C Class league Gareth Croft  ( Lyme RC ) win all four events to continue his march up the league tables. 

Despite the school holidays starting there was 11 riders in the youth races and Lola Ellis ( Eastlands Velo ) winning the 400m TT before Max Bufton ( HafrenCC) taking the other two individual events in the elimination and the points race




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                     Lyme RC

2nd          Minnie McKenzie                         Lyme RC

3rd          George Morton                              Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Sophie Griffiths                          

2nd          Alissa Jamison                          Lyme RC

3rd          Oscar Peel



Race 3

1st          George Morton

2nd         Sophie Griffths

3rd          Alissa Jamison


Race 4

1st         Oscar Peel

2nd        Minnie McKenzie

3rd         Sophie Griffiths



Group 2

Race 1

1st         Charlie Croft   Lyme RC

2nd     Max McKenzie                                       Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st          Charlie Croft

2nd`        Max McKenzie


Race 3

1st        Max McKenzie

2nd        Charlie Croft


Race 4

1st          Max McKenzie

2nd        Charlie Croft




500m Handicap League

1st         Hayden Norris                                      RST

2nd        Harry Ledingham-Horn                        Lyme RC

3rd         Chris Pyatt                                         Brooks Cycles             

4th         Darcey Ellis                                        Team JRC

5th         Josh Spendelow                                 Brooks Cycles

6th         Thomas Alcock                                        Lyme RC


Youth 400m TT

1st          Lola Ellis     Eastlands Velo    

2nd         Max Bufton   Hafren CC

3rd           Oscar Peel   Lyme RC

A Endurance 12 lap scratch

1st           Joel Partington     Sportcity Velo

2nd          Ryan Greaves      Lichfield CCC    

3rd          Josh Marsden       Lyme RC 


B Class Scratch

1st Andrew Bonnett            Uttoxeter CC

2nd Ross Hooley                  Innovation RT


C Class Scratch

1st Gareth Croft                   Lyme RC

2nd Darren Hughes              Lyme RC

3rd Ken Warrilow                  Lyme RC



Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Pete Humphries                 Brooks Cycles

              Harry Ledingham-Horn         Lyme RC

              Hayden Norris                      RST


Youth Team Sprint

1st       Charlie Croft             Lyme RC

          Thomas Jackson        Newport CC

          Thomas Hyde            Newport CC

          Lola Ellis                   Eastlands Velo

         Max Bufton                 Hafren CC



A Class Win and Out

1st          Josh Marsden

2nd         Ryan Greaves Lichfield CCC 

3rd Iain Davidson BC PM


B Class Win and Out

1st        Andrew Bonnett

2nd      Ross Hooley

3rd       Mike Boston                   Uttoxeter CC


C Class Win and Out

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow


Youth Devil

1st          Max Bufton

2nd         Lola Ellis

3rd          Thomas Hyde


Sprint Final

1st   Hayden Norris

2nd   Joel Partington

3rd Josh Spendelow


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Josh Marsden

2nd         Ryan Greaves

3rd   Iain Davidson


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnet

3rd Paige Nutton


C Class Devil

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow 


Youth Points

1st           Max Bufton

2nd          Thomas Hyde

3rd           Lola Ellis


A Class 20 laps scratch


1st Joel Partington

2nd Josh Marsden

3rd Josh Spendelow


B Class

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Mike Boston


C Class

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Ken Warrilow




Back to results list