15/08/2019 - Norris Sprints Super fast Sprint Final

There was a great turnout for the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs took place on the 15th August. Despite a number of regulars being away with the holiday season in full swing 41 riders took part. 

The night started with the Freewheelers League with the top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 Oscar Peel Lyme RC 13 Points

Group 2 Rory Shenton  Lyme RC 7 Points

Charlie Croft Lyme RC 7 Points


The Main league started with the first race of the 500m Handicap League with Hayden Norris ( RST) coming through to take the win from one of the back marks making this his second win in a row in this league.  The Team sprint event went to Darcey Ellis ( Team JRC) Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Lyme RC ) and Eddie Ardern. The sprint final was  a very quick race with recently crowned National Youth Sprint Champion Harry Ledingham-Horn just failing to get past Hayden Norris who was having a great night. 

In the A Class Endurance races Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC) won the opening  race in the 10 laps scratch  before Ryan Greaves ( Lichfield CCC) won the next two being the points and devil to show he is starting to show some real form on the track. The final 15 laps scratch went to sprinter Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles) who produced a big turn of speed to take the win.

The B Class races saw Andrew Bonnett winning the 8 laps scratch and points races before Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) took the elimination race . Ross is getting very good at this event and had won a number this year. Ross then topped this off winning the final 15 laps scratch. 

In the C Class league Gareth Croft  ( Lyme RC ) won the 6 laps and 4 laps scratch with the points race going to Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC) and the elimination to new rider to the track this year Karl Meredith. 

The Youth league was we'll supported with Seth Ireland ( Lyme RC ) taking the opening 200m TT. The other two individual wins went to Thomas Hyde ( Newport CC ) in the     elimination and the scratch race. Thomas is having a great year at the track . He is currently in second place overall and improves every week. 




Group 1 

Race 1

1st           Oscar Peel                                     Lyme RC

2nd          George Morton                              Lyme RC

3rd          Eddie Townsend                            Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Oscar Peel                                    

2nd          George Morton                              

3rd          Eddie Townsend                             


Race 3

1st          Oscar Peel

2nd         Eddie Townsend

3rd          George Morton


Race 4

1st           Oscar Peel                                    

2nd          George Morton                              

3rd          Eddie Townsend                           



Group 2

Race 1

1st         Charlie Croft                                     Lyme RC

2nd     Rory Shenton                                       Lyme RC


 Race 2

1st          Charlie Croft

2nd`        Rory Shenton


Race 3

1st        Rory Shenton

2nd        Charlie Croft


Race 4

1st          Rory Shenton

2nd        Charlie Croft




500m Handicap League

1st         Hayden Norris                    RST

2nd        Chris Pyatt                         Brooks Cycles

3rd         Pete Humphries                   Brooks Cycles      

4th       Callum Evans                         Team JRC    

5th       Eddie Ardern                           SES Racing

6th       Harry Ledingham-Horn               Lyme RC


Youth 400m TT

1st          Seth Ireland            Lyme RC   

2nd         Thomas Hyde          Newport CC

3rd          Carys Blowers          Mid Shropshire Wheelers

A Endurance 12 lap scratch

1st           Josh Marsden          Lyme RC

2nd          Ryan Greaves           Lichfield CCC    

3rd          Iain Davidson            BC BM 


B Class Scratch

1st Andrew Bonnett                  Uttoxeter CC

2nd Mike Boston                       Uttoxeter CC

3rd Paige Nutton                       Swinnerton Cycles


C Class Scratch

1st Gareth Croft                        Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell                         BC PM

3rd Darren Hughes                   Lyme RC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Darcey Ellis                     Team JRC

               Harry Ledingham-Horn     Lyme RC

                Eddie Ardern 


Youth Team Sprint

1st       Sam Stoker                        Hafren CC

           Leo Allen                           Newport CC

           Thomas Jackson                 Newport CC

           Carys Blowers                     Mid  Shropshire Wheelers

            Thomas Hyde                     Newport CC


A Class Points 

1st          Ryan Greaves

2nd         Josh Marsden

3rd         Iain Davidson 


B Class Points

1st       Andrew Bonnett

2nd      Mike Boston

3rd       Ross Hooley


C Class Points

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Karl Meredith

3rd Gareth Croft


Youth Devil

1st          Thomas Hyde

2nd         Seth Ireland

3rd          Cerys Greaves                          Lichfield CCC


Sprint Final

1st   Hayden Norris

2nd   Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd    Josh Spendelow


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Ryan Greaves

2nd         Josh Marden

3rd         Iain Davidson


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Sallie Birchall

3rd Steve Cronshaw                            Brooks Cycles


C Class Devil

1st Karl Meredith

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Phil Powell 


Youth Scratch

1st           Thomas Hyde

2nd          Cerys Greaves

3rd           Sam Stoker


A Class 15 laps scratch


1st Josh Spendelow

2nd Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd Ryan Greaves


B Class

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Mike Boston


C Class

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Darren Hughes

3rd Dave Price                                Crewe Clarion



Back to results list