29/08/2019 - Bufton and Norris have good night at league

The penultimate round of the Brooks Cycles Track League, Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffs took place on the 29th August. There was a good turnout again which is a pleasing aspect this August as usually attendances fall in the holiday period.

The night started with the Freewheelers League  with a few more riding than normal as they start to return from their holidays. The top points scores one each group were :


Group 1 Minnie McKenzie Lyme RC 11 Points

Group 2 Charlie Croft             Lyme RC 10 Points


The Main league started with the 500m handicap  and Hayden Norris ( RST)  repeated his performance of two weeks ago taking the win.  The Team sprint event went to Chris Pyatt ( Brooks Cycles) Harry Ledingham-Horn ( Backline Racing) and Josh Spendelow ( Brooks Cycles) . The sprint final saw Hayden taking his second win of the night with  National Youth Sprint Champion Harry Ledingham-Horn placing second. 

In the A Class Endurance races Ryan Greaves ( Lichfield CC)  won two races in the 10 laps scratch and the elimination. Josh Marsden ( Lyme RC) won the win and out and Harry Ledingham-Horn took the final 20 laps scratch.  

The B Class races saw Mike Boston ( Uttoxter CC) finish half a lap ahead in the opening 10 laps scratch before Ross Hooley ( Innovation RT ) took the win and out and the elimination races and the  final 20 laps scratch. Ross now is certain of winning the B Class league in which he has excelled all year. 

In the C Class league Gareth Croft  ( Lyme RC ) won the 6 laps and 4 laps scratch with the win and out going to Karl Meredith ( RNRMC) . Darren Hughes ( Lyme RC ) took the     elimination. 

The Youth league Max Bufton ( Hafren CC) had a great night winning the block handicap, elimination and the points race along with being a member of the winning team sprint team.




Group 1 

Race 1

1st          Minnie McKenzie                                    Lyme RC

2nd          Eddie Townsend                                     Lyme RC

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                                      Lyme RC


Race 2

1st           Minnie McKenzie                                    

2nd          Alissa Jamison     Lyme RC                              

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                            


Race 3

1st          Sophie Griffiths

2nd         Alissa Jamison

3rd        Minnie McKenzie


Race 4

1st           Minnie McKenzie                                  

2nd          Eddie Townsend                              

3rd          Sophie Griffiths                         



Group 2

Race 1

1st       Max McKenzie                                      Lyme RC

2nd     Rory Shenton                                        Lyme RC

3rd      Charlie Croft


 Race 2

1st          Charlie Croft

2nd       Max McKenzie

3rd        Rory Shenton


Race 3

1st        Charlie Croft

2nd        Rory Shenton

3rd        Max McKenzie


Race 4

1st          Rory Shenton

2nd        Charlie Croft

3rd        Max McKenzie




500m Handicap League

1st         Hayden Norris                  RST

2nd        Chris Pyatt                      Brooks Cycles

3rd        Harry Ledingham-Horn     Blackline Racing  

4th       Josh Spendelow               Brooks Cycles    

5th       Callum Evans                   Team JRC    

6th       Thomas Alcock                 Lyme RC


Youth Block Handicap

1st         Max Bufton               Hafren CC   

2nd        Seth Ireland               Lyme RC

3rd          Thea Lea                  Newport CC


A Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st           Ryan Greaves   Lichfield CCC

2nd          Josh Marsden    Lyme RC    

3rd          Iain Davidson    BC BM 


B Class Scratch

1st Mike Boston              Uttoxeter CC

2nd Ross Hooley             Innovation RT

3rd Andrew Bonnett        Uttoxeter CC


C Class Scratch

1st Gareth Croft            Lyme RC

2nd Phil Powell             BC PM

3rd Karl Meredith         RN/RMC


Sprinters League Team Sprint

1st           Chris Pyatt

              Harry Ledingham-Horn

              Josh Spendelow


Youth Team Sprint

1st      Sophie Griffiths Lyme RC

          Cerys Greaves

          Max Bufton                   

          Thomas Hyde        Newport CC


A Class Win and Out 

1st          Josh Marsden

2nd         Ryan Greaves

3rd        Fred Meredith           Hafren CC 


B Class Win and Out

1st Ross Hooley

2nd  Andrew Bonnett

3rd Mike Boston


C Class Win and Out

1st Karl Meredith

2nd Phil Powell

3rd Dave Price               Crewe Clarion CC


Youth Elimination 

1st          Max Bufton

2nd         Seth Ireland

3rd          Thomas Hyde  


Sprint Final

1st   Hayden Norris

2nd   Harry Ledingham-Horn

3rd    Josh Spendelow


A Class Endurance Devil

1st           Ryan Greaves

2nd         Josh Marden

3rd        Fred Meredith


B Class Devil

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Mike Boston

3rd Phil Braybrooks                Cheshire Mavericks CC


C Class Devil

1st Darren Hughes

2nd Karl Meredith

3rd Phil Powell 


Youth Points

1st           Max Bufton

2nd          Thomas Hyde

3rd           Cerys Greaves


A Class 20 laps scratch


1st Harry Ledingham-Horn

2nd Josh Spendelow

3rd Ryan Greaves


B Class

1st Ross Hooley

2nd Andrew Bonnett

3rd Mike Boston


C Class

1st Gareth Croft

2nd Karl Meredith

3rd Darren Hughes


Back to results list